Addict in Recovery | What it is like to go 'Cold Turkey'

in #sex6 years ago

coldturkey.jpg

Image from http://anglik.net/cold-turkey/

When you google ‘Cold Turkey’ two definitions come up: cold turkey
informal
noun

the abrupt and complete cessation of taking a drug to which one is addicted.
"I had to go cold turkey"
adverb
NORTH AMERICAN

in a sudden and abrupt manner.
"I had to quit drinking cold turkey"

For a long time I had a sex addiction. I loved the high I felt after experiencing an orgasm. According to a chatelaine.com article, “Before orgasm, oxytocin, released from the brain, surges and is accompanied by the release of endorphins, our natural pain-killing hormones.”
(http://www.chatelaine.com/health/sex-and-relationships/more-sex-is-the-secret-to-a-longer-healthier-life/)

I lost my virginity when I was seventeen to my highschool sweetheart. We were together for five years, and then we grew up and went separate ways. At twenty-two, I began dating and realized it was not easy. The game was exhausting, but I learned that if I wanted to get laid, then I had to play. After a series of relationship attempts, where I ended up broken-hearted, I decided at the age of twenty-four, that I was going to treat sex the same way guys do.

In my book ‘Sexcapades: Lessons in Sex Ed’ I state “ I think I had finally figured out what I wanted out of sex...no strings attached. I was in my mid-twenties, and for the first time I was not worried about what would happen next.” This began an eight year spree of casual sex, that came to an abrupt end this January.

As I moved around in the United States and then on to Europe, I had a lot of personal growth and learned new things from each experience. At the beginning of this year, I was juggling a bit and started the new year with a few different ‘bangs’! I had slept with an old flame during a New Years Eve trip, and then jumped in the sack with the guy I was dating back home within one week of each other. By the end of the month, I had slept with a third person.
It was not until I was rejected by the third person, after suggesting more casual sex, that I realized something needed to change. At this time I was also told that I needed to ‘stop identifying with my body’. It was time for spiritual growth.

My spiritual growth has always been a gradual process. From growing up in a strict, religious house, to not identifying with organized religion at all as a young adult, I was always on one side of the spectrum, but never in the middle. When I had a reality check after my university years, and realized I did not want to fit into “society’s mold”, I moved away from the only place I had ever called home. I went through another transition when I moved again in my mid-twenties. I began doing yoga and reading more about natural ways of living. I took workshops to help my spiritual growth, related to yoga and being a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP). I also read more about Ayurveda and learned how to garden.

January 2018 took a turn when I realized I had control of my body, and if I wanted to change the old patterns, then I had to make a big decision. I stopped having sex ‘cold turkey’. It has not been easy, but I have found that I am using that energy to be more creative. It has been liberating, but sometimes I have to remind myself that I am ‘in recovery’ and even if I have an urge to ‘get a fix’, it is better to fight it.

Now, to be clear, I am not saying that I will never have sex again. However, I need to find someone I can connect with on a deeper level, before I ‘let them in’ physically.

Sort:  

Congratulations @phoebeglen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68985.88
ETH 2736.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72