The price of free sex

in #sex6 years ago (edited)

So, here's one of those trains of thought that run through my mind now and then, but that I don't really discuss with anyone. Why? Because it can get really sensitive. However, like I said ... I'm going to let you into my mind. If you want to share your thoughts too, please do, just be kind. These are just my opinions. And remember, we are all entitled to our opinions.

I was sitting in an exam today, and one of the questions to the grade 12s asked the student to discuss what the government and the mining sector could do to continue supporting the HIV/AIDS population and their needs while there is an economic crisis going on and budgets are being cut. It got me thinking... why does the Government have to support the AIDS / HIV community at all? The answer is quite simple. Because as human beings, we need to help those that are suffering and can't help themselves. Yip. So, that's why the government uses our taxes to sustain all those that have AIDS / HIV.


[African Premier College]

That lead me think about what the reason is why many (please note, I said MANY, not all!) of the people who have AIDS / HIV have it. It's because they made a choice. (Obviously this line of thought DOES NOT include those who have contracted this disease though other means, not by choice.) The choice was made to have sex outside of the bonds of marriage and / or with more than one partner. Yes, I am a Christian and I believe in the no sex before marriage rule, and I also believe in fidelity in marriage. If this simple law was kept, following the AIDS/HIV line of thought, I feel it would be a relatively simple deduction to say that we would have a LOT less parent-less or single parent families, a lot fewer funerals to go to and we would be spending a lot less of our taxes on supporting families who needed assistance or to be taken care of by a grandparent. We (the government, actually the tax payers) would be required to spend a lot less on the huge SASSA bill. And what about those families and individuals that are receiving payouts? How do they even survive on the teeny tiny sum they receive? How does R380 per month for a child support grant even come close to covering the physical, educational and any other needs of a child? Could YOU eat, find a home and go to school for that pittance? So we are spending a fortune helping those in need, but the assistance they are getting is not nearly enough to actually change their lives much! It's so sad!


[Tomorrow's World]

But, that's not really the biggest part of my thinking. I have to wonder... why IS the government (actually, the tax payers) responsible for taking care of the medical bills / financial fall out for the consequences of someone's sexual choices? Sex is a choice. We KNOW that lots of, or unprotected sex, can cause a deadly disease, so doing it is a choice and the consequence will follow. So, my point is this... if cancer is NOT a choice, why doesn't the government cover their medical costs and take care of THEIR families? If someone is injured in a car accident because of someone else's neglect, why doesn't the government cover the costs of THEIR loss and rehabilitation? I just don't understand why the government (actually, the tax payers) responsible for the consequences of someone's sexual choices? Sex has nothing to do with the government... we hear that ALL the time. Just look at the LGBT movement who constantly say let us do what we want to do in the privacy of our homes. And I agree. You can do whatever you want to do. You are a free agent. You have choices. But why then is the nation picking up the tab? Emotionally, financially and in the homes of millions of broken and hurting families? This is what I don't understand. I totally agree as I said before, that as humans (and personally as Christians) we should help those in need, we should help those who are suffering. But it's not the responsibility of the government (actually, the tax payers) to carry the burden and financial responsibility for their choices.


[Nature of Healing]

Those are some of the thoughts I had today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46