Playful thoughts #3: Amsterdam Pride gives a bad reputation to the LGBT community

in #sex7 years ago (edited)
Last weekend, the Netherlands were celebrating Amsterdam Pride. Looking at some video material of the parade, I couldn't help but feel disgusted.

Although I believe that everyone has the right to live their life as they see fit, and should be able to express their sexual preference, I don't see how acting hypersexual and dancing half naked with your tits and ass hanging out is pride. Does this not give a bad reputation to the community? Is this behavior not detrimental to the normalization of LGBT?

I can't help but when I think about LGBT people, I automatically associate them with the shamelessly promiscuous behavior that is put on display during such parades.


Amsterdam Pride 2015

While watching some videos on Amsterdam Pride (and other related videos) on Youtube, I came across some interesting comments from people who are LGBT and who actually dislike the Pride parades or the community itself. I would like to share some of their comments with you here.

As a bisexual woman, I fucking despise the LGBT community. I'm a moderate liberal but since I'm not an SJW, I'm shunned. Almost everything to do with the LGBT community these days is all left wing politics. As a result, I keep myself away from almost every gay event, support group etc. Everything you say in this video Blaire is true. Thank you so much for making this video.
-Madeline Mehok

I don't have a problem with people living that way but it is offensive to see when it is all on display. my husband and I don't make out when we are up the street. some things are meant to be private. - mum life

And WHY is BDSM grouped in with pride events? Here in San Diego, there is a whole other section of the pride weekend called the Leather Room which is all about BDSM with workshops and all. It really bothers me. It is basically implying that of you are gay or trans you are also into kink. - Kay Davis

sooo true!!! I was in cologne yesterday...and people running around in their leather and latex fetish stuff makes me so damn uncomfortable. Sometimes I can really understand why people see us as freaks :/ - Makolovegood

I am glad to see that even people who are LGBT feel uncomfortable with the Pride parades.


If you enjoy reading this article, please consider following me. I mainly write about philosophy, economics, and my travels.

Follow me @chhaylin
E-mail: [email protected]
Wordpress: www.chhaylinlim.wordpress.com
Sort:  

Nice article

Thanks, Lem!

Dear Chhaylin, I would like to sell STEEM to you. Tomorrow I will get a Power Down of around 80 STEEM or so. The reason why I do not have liquid money is that I have sent everything to Bittrex and they now have a new withdrawal policy. Only 0.025 BTC per day for my account without verification. I do not want to verify there. Would you like to send SEPA to a friend I have here? I will send you now the IBAN and BIC in the steemit.chat. As soon as I have the STEEM I will send them to you. Price of now:

Hi Shla, unfortunately, I have just spent all my money on buying crypto, transportation and monthly bills. Let me know if you want to sell some more after 2 weeks. :)

:) still nice to say hi to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19