My second small Business: Die Hekel Hoekie - Boegoe Bugz

in #sewing7 years ago (edited)

boegoelogo2.png
First of all "Die Hekel Hoekie" is Afrikaans, translated to English it stands for "The Crochet Corner".

I started "Die Hekel Hoekie" back in 2011 when I was pregnant with my first baby, a beautiful little girl. As a new almost to be mommy I wanted to do make something special for my little newcomer. I tried my hand at knitting, but I just could not wrap my head around it and I disliked it a lot. My grandmother tried to teach me, but to no avail! Since I learn better by teaching myself I decided to go and buy a book about knitting, but instead found a great book about crocheting (actually my husband found it). So my crochet journey began...
Bella edit6.jpg

It took some time but after a few trial and errors I got the hang of it and fell in-love with this beautiful craft! I enjoyed crocheting so much I started to make bootees and baby hats to sell and later bags, scarfs and anything I could find my hands on.
549266_201624836614127_1281211223_n.jpg
My cloth diapering journey began in 2016 with baby number three and I also got introduced into wool diaper covers. I downloaded some crochet cover patterns but I after trying several I did not like the fit of any. So unto designing my own pattern! After a few adjustments I got it perfect and it is now available to purchase on my craftsy shop https://www.craftsy.com/crocheting/patterns/boegoe-bugz-crochet-diaper-soaker/538106. These have to be made with 100% Merino wool and to make it waterproof you have to treat it with lanolin (the oil we get from sheep wool).
maroon_small.jpeg

I opened a sub-division underneath "Die Hekel Hoekie" named "Boegoe Bugz" in the beginning of 2017. "Boegoe Bugz" is my all natural products. I also taught myself to sew a few years ago and started making my soon to be fourth baby her own cloth nappies. And again a fell in love! Wow... making diapers is an art of its own!!! And from as of two months ago I started making nappies to sell, wish me luck in my new business!
Purpe Flowers.jpeg

I am a bit of a busy-body and always on the lookout to learn something new. If I try something and I hate it I stop and move on, if I like it I will keep going and see where the road takes me, but if I love it, it becomes part of my circle of life.

Thank you for reading my post and please do forgive my terrible English, I am Afrikaans, but if I would've written it in Afrikaans I would only been able to share my stories with a handful of people.

Semco Mama

Sort:  

I love your crochet! Very nice and good luck with your new business. They look like very nice diapers and cover. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59185.23
ETH 2319.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46