Finished Object : Shorts - 7 August 2024

in #sewing11 days ago (edited)


image.png

I started writing about this sewing project here and then about the chosen fabric for the finished pair of shorts here.

For days I felt really intimated and found it hard to start cutting the special fabric : too nice to cut, not really my fabric and so on. I shouldn't have worried so much; I had to be brave and eventually just got on with it. I’m happy to report that it went just fine. I was very careful to lay the fabric the right way around.

I placed all the pattern pieces correctly and even managed to get a lot of extra material to make another project. In the photo above I show you the pattern pieces and the two back pieces as I was cutting them. The table’s too small to lay the whole project so it was a question of cutting the two backs and then the two fronts. I was able to use some left overs for the pockets.


image.png

It was really good and a relief to see the project come together : all the pieces fitted together really well and the size I chose fitted my friend.

This link will take you to the free sewing pattern for the shorts in case you are ever interested. I recommend the pattern because it worked well sometimes things don't work out as advertised. The only alteration I made was that I cut the waistband much wider. I basically just made it 13 cm wide and then folded it in half. This is because my friend wanted it a bit wider. The elastic was not as wide but my friend didn't mind.


image.png

The photo above shows you the finished pair of shorts just before I added the elastic. The colour of the fabric is so dark that I had to put a pair of scissors in the pocket to show where it was. Making the pockets was very straightforward just following the video I told you about before too.

My friend was a bit reluctant to model the finished pair of shorts but she's not taken them off since I made them for her. I've even suggested she should buy another piece of fabric to make another pair !

Thank you for reading !

( The photos are all mine)

Sort:  

What a gorgeous looking fabric @flowertron! And it seems you did indeed worry for nothing, because the shorts look super!

You know, you talk about getting yourself all worked up - to a point that you can't even begin... because you are scared to mess things up. Now, you actually have some relative justification for that, but I also do the same thing sometimes... just before starting a drawing or design, and I have no idea why... because I can just start over... and over and over again lol - but oddly that knowledge does little to help my anxiety.

Seems many creatives get stuck in that sort of "doubt loop". Silly really, isn't it. 😊

I'm glad I'm not the only one who gets that 'inability to just get on with it', @jaynie ! 😃

Definitely not. ;)

1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Thanks so much @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲 :) Greatly appreciated!!! Hope you are having a lovely Friday!

¡Misión cumplida! Ahora tu amiga no se quiere quitar el pantalón, eso quiere decir que has sido un éxito.

Fuiste valiente, cuidadosa y talentosa para salir adelante. Lo más importante que lo aprendido nunca se olvida.

Gracias por compartir, saludos y que sigan tus éxitos.

Thank you @casv. I'm pleased and also wondering what sort of special fabric she'll come up with next !


1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Thank you for the support @steemcurator09 / @irawandedy !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42