Hello there!

in #sewing7 years ago (edited)

20171107_201119 - Copy.jpg

Hi! I'm curlygirl85! I've joined steemit because my inestimable brother-in-law (@ironshield) has a really great way of making everything sound not only doable, but fun.

A little bit about me, so I'm not quite faceless: I'm quite Christian, and I live at home with my parents and most of my 8 siblings. I've been homeschooled all the way, I hold a builders and a lead license, I like to garden and I'm unashamedly extroverted. This last doesn't mean I'm never shy, but I am surprised when people ask what I did for socialization growing up. Lol...

I want to use this platform as a kind of blog to document the different things I'm figuring out about sewing. I'm self-taught for the most part (something that will probably change soon as I'd really like to learn more how to flat pattern and drape, and hopefully fill in gaps in my sewing knowledge,) and perhaps this will be helpful to others who want to learn from my mistakes.

I learn a lot by trial and error and use old sheets and fabrics gifted to me for a lot of strange and sometimes totally impractical things, but I am fascinated most by methods of sewing used back when people did a lot of their own sewing. I hate wasting fabric (probably because I experiment a lot and don't want it to only be a theoretical project) and if you were sewing at a time when you might have had money for a total of three dresses as a middle to lower class lady, you wouldn't have wasted much. That's pretty early on in our history, and at the moment I know the most about mid 19th century clothing. American Civil War era, for the uninitiated. ;)

So, that's something about me. Thanks for stopping by!
20171031_215800.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations on your first steemit post! Try using the introduceyourself tag and you will get a hearty welcome! I'm so happy to see you blogging here on steemit! @ironshield

What a blessed guy you are, iron. A sis who takes your advice!!

It didn't call out my name @ironshield because it was in parentheses (@ironshield). Funny steemit rules!

Aha! I'll remember for next time. ;) This platform seems to use code more than blogger.com which is what I have used occasionally. I know next to nothing about coding, but it's fun to see the ins and outs!

I like this outfit - looks very Japanese to me. The skirt is bowing out and has my attention. The bodice is bold. I wish you the best in your business, which will do very well - you watch! I know it will. God bless you. Now following and upvoted you to, AND resteemed you. (I am very impressed, I guess....haha! :)

Thanks! The outfit is actually very American, mid 19th century. I appreciate the support!

Welcome to steemit! @ironshield is a good one for encouraging folks ;-)
If he has not showed you the ropes on how all this place can help, I did start a collab to help folks and try to explain how to get around.
Just be yourself and don't forget to have fun!

Thanks! I appreciate the advice and the support for a newbie. I'm already asking @ironshield for help in resizing my ginormous photos! I wanted a bit of a photo, but not a magazine spread! :D :D

Stand strong be your self and keep sewing cool clothing. Love the perspective of looking at how it was done back then. It helps us to realize how blessed we are in these days with abundance.

Thanks for the advice! I shall definitely do my best. Yes, the more I understand about history the more I appreciate how easily I can access things and services!

Wow! Welcome to steemit! I will be checking out your posts as I love to sew as well! :) There is a #needleworkmonday tag and I do a #makeitmonday tag as well for all things sewing. We also have a discord group to post links in. Here is the invitation if you're interested! I am looking forward to seeing what you have to post about! :)

Wow, thanks! I will definitely check it out! I don't actually know many people in real life to talk sewing with, and it's amazing when I do. I hope you enjoy my projects. :D

Oh nice! I'm mostly into quilting. I can't do clothes, but my mom does. I really can't follow a pattern! Lol! I have no idea why... I really like that dress. It is so nice looking! And a super cool pic in general!

I can't quilt...or rather I don't like to quilt. I can't follow patterns well, either, but I like to sew clothes enough that I muscle through anyway! :D I make most of my own patterns now, which helps. I found that once I understood why the pieces were shaped the way they were and what measurements went where it made a lot more sense to me. If I know the why, I can usually figure out the what. :D My sister took the photo for me! She's very artistic. @apanamamama

That's great that you make your own patterns! Impressive! Your sister has quite an eye for photography. :) Have a great day!

Hi panama, pardon me for jumping in on your conversation, but your post struck a chord. I just followed you. Excited to see more posts in the future.

Cool. Thanks for letting me know. :)

Ben, is this a bot? Is this just confirming that I'm not using other people's text and photography? Confused...

Yes, original works is a bot that verifies that your content was not plagiarized. They reward you with a small upvote. Congratulations! @ironshield

Oh, I just asked myself the same question. Thank you for explaning! @ironshield

It's useful bot... although if you quote bible verses, I find that the bot suspects you of copying. @ironshield

Heh. Wait until you try to get Steem, Steem Power and SBD straight. Ai yi yi. I'm glad @ironshield gets it because I still haven't quite gotten my head around how everything works together yet.

I'm feeling a trifle whelmed over, myself. I'm sure I'll get it. I just need to press all the buttons. :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @curlygirl85 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

A belated welcome!! Good to have you on board!!
Steemit is the place to be!! :-D
I'm a friend of @ironshield!!

Thank you! I'm glad to be here! Thanks for the encouragement. :D @paradise-found

We will surely support you as steemit is build on love @curlgirl85

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47