Live Long and Sew (Star Trek DS9 uniform)

in #sewing6 years ago

My husband is an avid fan of Star Trek. Last year, he asked me if I could sew him the DS9 Medical Officer uniform of Dr. Bashir. I had experience sewing pillowcases, wallets, bags, skirts and tunic tops but never tried sewing jackets or jumpsuits.

This was a big challenge for me as it required heavy knit fabric and denim fabric, it was a color block pattern and as if it was not enough, it required an invisible zipper.

I ordered the pattern from Roddenberry.com. It cost me about $25. You can check it out at below address.
https://shop.roddenberry.com/collections/uniform-patterns/products/ds9-and-voyager-uniform-jumpsuit-male?variant=12707670790

After I received the pattern, I read all the instructions and bought all materials from Joann. I began by cutting the fabric as per the instructions. I then labeled the pattern pieces to make it easier to put them together for sewing. Everything went smooth until the part when I had to attach the sleeves to the main body. I had hard time attaching them because it being a color block pattern, I had to make sure that every seam was aligned properly which takes a lot of effort and trial and error.

Another hurdle was inserting the invisible zipper. This was my first time sewing an invisible zipper. The instructions that came with the pattern were unhelpful and not that clear to me so I had to look online to figure out how to do that. There were a couple of videos that I referred to and were very helpful. Below are the links.


In the end, it worked out well. In summary, this uniform pattern is easy to sew if you have experience sewing garments. For beginners, it’s a bit difficult to follow as the instructions are not in depth. It was still worth it for me as I learned a lot by doing trial and error and by learning from my mistakes.

As always...when in doubt, just Craft and Sew!

Sort:  

I love it @amygonnacraft ! I think it all looks great so I hope your husband treated you to a lovely dinner (not on the holodeck though)...

Hey Thanks! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39