SevenDaysOutside challenge - Gatethursday - Common country gates, Wales ...

That's the most common type of gate I see around and it's used to control access to fields - for sheep in our neighbour's case. I would say it's a galvanised field gate, but it does show signs of rust.

Often the gates have wooden posts that tend to rot at the bottom. The sheer weight of the metal gate makes the structure crooked and unstable - I would not climb them.

It's not that clear in the photo but plastic bale twine is normally used to close off the gate properly and to give it some safety.

Gates can be very fancy indeed, but the photo shows you what I see everyday : a practical solution for keeping animals in.

I took the photo yesterday evening around 6pm.



photos by @cryptocariad



If you'd like to join in the Seven Day Outside Challenge these are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag, @erikah!

Sort:  

Great photo, I would love to shoot that in infrared. The grassy field and sky always look interesting in that wavelength.

I have a very similar picture of a gate in Wales :) they must be everywhere!

Nice photo. Makes you think you are a sheep looking through the gate at the wonderful pasture beyond. Because you know the grass is always greener... lol I think that is just a painted steel gate not galvanized. Nice post @cryptocariad. I like the multiple shots across the bottom when you do that. What software do you use to do that again?

I like the shadows in that photograph.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72