Seven Days Of Love Challenge-Day 2 - To Kevin

in #sevendaysoflove6 years ago (edited)

My entry into @deadgrlsuppastar’s #sevendaysoflove challenge.

I wrote this poem after my son was killed in a vehicle accident on a Christmas evening. When I saw the challenge today was a love poem, I thought of this one and found it in Kevin’s memory box.

In addition to finding the poem, there was a surprise message in the box, I will reveal this message at the end.

❤️ TO KEVIN ❤️

I didn’t see you close your eyes
Or hear your final sigh.
Suddenly my only child was gone,
No change to say good-bye.

The Angel of Death reached down
That dark Christmas night
And gathered another precious jewel
From the lone highway.

It seems not the proper order,
My child should go before
Children are God’s treasures
And perhaps he needs them more.

It broke my heart to lose you,
Not to see your beautiful smile
But part of my heart went with you
As you travelled that last mile.

Kevin with his grandfather at my sister’s wedding.
FD41CB49-43EB-4AF2-9346-4E84B422018A.jpeg

Something amazing happened when I opened the memory box. I see a thank you card Kevin had sent to his father and me at one time. I hadn’t seen this card for a long time but somehow it had worked it’s way to the top of the other memorials of Kevin I had kept tucked away in the box.

The front of the card reads:

“I don’t tell you enough Mom and Dad but thanks for everything.”

Often I will find cards he had given turn up in unexpected places with messages of love and thanks.

1E2368B5-84C3-4F23-B24B-329F14DEF019.jpeg

Check out the rules #sevendaysoflove challenge.

22FCB281-FEF4-434F-9145-BAB3C3B08C6D.jpeg

Thanks for visiting @redheadpei.

Sort:  

I'm sorry for your loss. That was a touching poem and beautiful post.

Thank you @gratefulforitall. I try to be grateful for the time I had with him.

My heart goes out to you and Kevin in eternity. What a beautiful son and heart felt poem. This is love. I like this challenge and will consider later.

Thank you @mineopoly.
I appreciate your kind comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42