Sort:  

Stinkerbelle, Bessie and Tricksy. Bessie is momma to the other two. All pregnant, hoping for the best! Stink lost her first calf and Bessie lost one - both last year, and this is Tricksy's first pregnancy. A little nerve wracking!

I bet!! Are you delivering them? Or do you have a Vet? Hope all will go well!! You are going to swim in milk! cheesemaking!!!
I would love to be able to buy some milk form you!!!

Oh it is all so nutz! I "red pilled" in about 2 days. It was brutal. I grew up in the suburbs of Cincinnati, never even saw anyone milk a cow. But I got my chickens and my cow and took up gardening (got into aquaponics and permaculture!) and she had her first calf and I learned to milk her. That is a story I will have to tell some day...
It is 10 years later. I have a neighbor who does dairy cows and I can buy milk for 5 bucks a gallon. I do not even milk Bessie any more... her calves get it because as you noted, I cannot use that much milk, there are only 3 of us in this house! But I raised her from a week old, bottle fed her and all. She is my dog. My therapy animal... and we estimate the bit of milk we actually got probably came in around 2K per gallon... LOL!
When it goes well, the calves just come. The one Bessie lost, we just don't know. May not have been pregnant, or coyotes got the remains, but she just never delivered last year after we had her AI'd. When Stink lost her calf we had to call the vet to come pull it. That was sad, but we saved her at least. It was not looking good for a while, glad she is still with me!
Thanks for the good wishes!

Good for the calves to have the milk!! And if you sell them, there are lots of people who pay extra for that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52