The Seven Day Beer Challenge #3 - CASTLE Beer

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello to you!
Howdy today? Trust you had a better day than I did?

Well, jumping straight to the crux of the matter…..It is Day 3 of my Beer Challenge, and the torture continues. My taste-buds have been having a weird “orgy of tastes” so far, since the very delectable @abigail-dantes decided to nominate me for this beer challenge; as a consequence of @trumpman nominating her.

Some people might term that transferred aggression, but not when it comes to @abigail-dantes, she used her charming spell to coerce various people into this challenge, of which I am both fortunately and unfortunately one...Lolz

Well, today’s beer is named after one of my favourite TV shows in the last decade or so.



Beer Name – CASTLE (Lite)

I’m guessing it caught my attention while I was scanning the beer section of the mall, for a beer I hadn’t tasted yet.

I liked the CASTLE TV show….Richard Castle and Kate Beckett kept me satiated with their very wonderful chemistry all through the series.

Uhm, it wasn’t a romantic series exactly, in case you are wondering. It was a cool detective and crime series, centered on a Novelist who signed up to assist a Police Precinct to investigate murders which were originally carried out according to some of his novels.

Anyway, before I go too far with the series review, let’s come back to the CASTLE beer. Yes, I decided to visit South Africa for today’s beer.


General Info

Castle Beer is quite an old and historic brand of beer. It is a South African beer created in 1894 by Charles Glass and introduced in 1895. It is a product of the South African breweries and is considered as a national beer, just like Carling is to the United Kingdom; and Budweiser is to the United States.

Amazingly, the beer I picked today was awarded the “World’s Best Bottled Lager” in the year 2000 by the Brewery Industry International Awards.

Yippee! @abigail-dantes…..I’m gonna be drinking an award winning beer tonight…lolz

The beer brand is known to sponsor so many associations in South Africa. Charles Glass, who’s the founder of the Castle Brewery created the beer during the gold rush of South Africa in 1886. Charles Glass sold the beer to miners and it became so popular that it was described as a “phenomenal success” by a Jo’burg daily. On the strength of the beer’s success the South African Brewery (SAB) was founded in 1895, with the Castle Brewery being its Head Office.

The Castle Lite which is the variant I saw at the mall was introduced in 1994. It is a lower calorie and alcohol variant of the Castle Lager and is sold in green bottles as opposed to the Castle Lager’s brown.

Alcohol content is at 4%. The price for this particular bottle was $1.19


Review

On tasting this beer, I expected the taste of your regular larger.

But I was pretty impressed by the taste unlike the HERO beer of my Day one challenge.

This CASTLE tasted a little bit like your premium lager but featured a malt taste and corn aroma. It had a distinct taste of barley malt and hops. Its ingredients also included maize extract and preservatives, which gives it a bit of a light and easy going taste on the tongue.

It doesn’t foam as much as a regular premium larger; as it had a small white head.


Would I be drinking this again?
No, I don’t think so. Reason being that as much as I liked the fact that it had some sweetness in its taste with barely any bitterness, I found its after-taste in my mouth unpleasant, even after I had downed the whole bottle.
I didn’t like the beer breath I oozed, as it wasn’t like the normal premium lager stench. Plus the after-taste in my mouth made me quickly rush for my apples which I bought for dessert; as I had the urge to get rid of the 'not-so-pleasant' after-taste in my mouth.
It isn’t like I’m new to the after taste of beer, but this one didn’t do my tongue any favours or my breath. I’m guessing the corn flavour had a lot to do with that, as I am not very used to corn. So, I don’t think I would be trying this particular drink out again, or anytime soon.

Who would I be nominating for this challenge?
Well, I’ll go feminine again today. Ladies bring a lot of swagger to beer-drinking and tasting…..Lolz. At least, @abigail-dantes showed me that. So, I’d be nominating @egoedozie today. She’s also not a beer person. She’s more of a wine freak, and would make a perfect candidate for the tasting aspect and analysis of this beer challenge. I’m hoping @egoedozie would accept the challenge.



As per the rules of the challenge;

  • You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  • The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  • You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  • Nominate someone every day
  • If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  • Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Cheers!!!

Sort:  

Oh my goodness. You were so quick to say you would not be drinking it again. It made me laugh out here. Good luck tasting

Lolz....Yea, I liked the taste of the beer while drinking, the after-taste however is a no-no. It's quite strange. Anyway, my apples have done justice to it. Do you sample beer as well @zizymena?

No @rickie I have zero tolerance for beer or alcohol. I don't know what beer tastes like but I know men love it a lot. Thank God for Apple to the rescue😁

Lolz.....Yea, I thank God too.

Looks like a typical lager that’s skunked due to the green glass.

Yea, quite a cool way of describing it @cryptictruth....Lolz. Thanks for dropping by.

Gosh @rickie, it sounds like today’s tasting was quite nasty! 😂 I don’t know how you managed to drink the whole bottle. Glad to hear you like fruits!!!

Lolz......I figured it would go to waste anyways, if i fail to finish it. So, I just gulped away at it. And yea I do like fruits @abigail-dantes. Thanks for sticking by me through this. You are awesome.

Hahah. Drinking is fun until one is drunk. Finishing one bottle with apple seems possible. Lol

Yea, the apple helped. Quite a funny combo. Apple plus alcohol. Lolz

I will like you to try smirnoff ice.

Ok, would try to find that later today. Thanks @turpsy

Even though you wouldn't be drinking this beer again, at least you tried it out, unlike some of us who are avoid it because of the taste and a pot belly as you said earlier. Anyway have fun with your 4 days left. Wait, you went to South Africa for this one? wow!!.

Yea @nigtroy. It's weird how challenges can bring out the resolute side of our personalities. Perhaps you should join the challenge. You never know the quality hidden within you.

Errm, thanks for the recommendation but my circumstances at the moment won't permit that so I'll just have fun watching you guys do it. 😊

How is your feelings Rickie?

I'm good @ritalaura. And you?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rickie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28