The Seven Day Beer Challenge #1 - Occultist by BrewDog

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

I was challenged by @trumpman

And I accepted.

Now, there is no other choice. Get into the rabbit hole and never get out. Welcome to hotel California …

DSC_0309.jpg

Setting the Stage

I am taking by challenges and my beers seriously… So, I did what every serious human being would do. I googled "beer stores Athens" and fate brought me here …

IMG_20180307_125656_resized_20180308_082752729.jpg

Full of confidence I entered the store and asked for a beer. I pretended I knew my beershit, but finally chose the one with the coolest looking package . So much for your beer expert. The choice was made easier by the fact I would get two for the price of one, because they were about to expire. But worry not my friends! I am ilias and I am fine … For the time being…

DSC_0295.jpg

The Beer

Occultist by BrewDog is a black beer. Stout is the scientific term.

Screen Shot 2018-03-08 at 20.44.10.png

According to Wikipedia :

Stout is a dark beer made using roasted malt or roasted barley, hops, water and yeast. Stouts
were traditionally the generic term for the strongest or stoutest porters, typically 7% or 8%
alcohol by volume (ABV), produced by a brewery.[1][2] There are a number of variations
including Baltic porter, milk stout, and imperial stout; the most common variation is dry
stout, exemplified by Guinness Draught, the world's best selling stout.

This one is made out oats and wheat, blended with vanilla and chocolate and it was produced at 2017. Brewdog is a Scottish brewery established in 2007.

DSC_0303.jpg

Expert's Take ( that would be me )

Ok, I will be honest with you , I am not a beer expert. Some of you may have guessed it.
But I will do my best to make a decent review.

DSC_0304.jpg

This beer is sweet , maybe too sweet for most. It has a strong creamy, roasty taste. Cacao and vanilla are easily distinguishable and they are what you remember out of this beer. In the end it is like you had a choco milkshake with beer. The can is 330 ml and it contains 8% alcohol.

DSC_0307.jpg

  • Did you like it ? Yeah … Short of … It's a beer you know ...

  • Would recommended it ? I think it has a very specific audience. Probably not.

  • Would you drink it again ? No. Unless there was no other beer around.

Now it is your turn. I challenge @karinxxl . I am sure she will rise to the occasion.

DSC_0311.jpg

These are the rules.
You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
The beer must be something you have never tasted before (you can break this rule if you want)
You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
Nominate someone every day
If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Let's Make Steemit Alcoholic Again!

And until the next beer …
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

Sort:  

You can check out any time you like.....but you can never leave :)

Please tell me you are entering the #beersaturday competition with these beauties. 7 days of beer dude! (99 bottles of beer on the wall, 99 bottles of beer...if one of those bottles might happen to fall....)

It seems that I have. Thanks for the tip. :)

I am waiting for your posts. You have been challenged ...

7 days of beer???

Dude you know Im already prone to be found an alcoholic just living on an island, right???

Shit! We really dont have so many different beers here :((((

I would have to stock up to get this done. It might take some planning :)

Take your time . Doesn't have to be 7 days straight.
Your challenge , your rules.
We are counting on you. :)

Amazing drink

esy to piges se allo level agori mou !! :)

απλα ειπα να το κανω λγο ενδιαφερον . :)

Damn, the design is awesome :D I am getting one just to keep the tin as a memento :D

If you have any problem tell me to send you a couple . :)

I appreciate your willingness to put yourself in danger on this wild adventure. Beer stores can often be frequented by wild otters and bears. Yes, they can. But you made it thru... and learnt abit. Well, I learnt with ya. It is amazing how much info is out there to help you know what it is you're drinking. And then it's up to you - whether you like it or not. Very cool. I enjoyed your spirit of exploration.

Finally, somebody that understands ... Someone that appreciates what I went through ... My sacrifices for the people of Steemit. Some might say it's a stupid reason to drink. They can't be further from the truth. It is an exploration, as you said, a journey of knowledge and taste. Here's to the journey...
Cheers!!!

I'd reply more, but.... I think I've been exploring a biut mich ang new mi comutor us blikin. Choors, doode! :-)) I knew - gitta Sacrfise!

You're a beersteem hero !!! :)

20180311_172332.jpg

My second home ... LOL!!

where is it ? seems enticing ... :)

Kastella !

Damn. Out of my reach ... :(

λολολολ
It is not a beer!
It is a frape disguised as a beer! 😂😂😂😂

That is a very accurate description. :)

Μεζέ δεν έχει;;;;;;; :ppp

Ειχε μεζε αλλα το πιατο ηταν πλαστικο και δεν φαινοταν καλα στην φωτογραφια. :)

Βeer is pne pf the the best drinks nice chalenge btw

Thank you and consider your self challenged. Don't chicken out . :)

ofc i would love to do it but my prob is annew here i dont know much people to rechalenge back

You don't have to challenge anyone. Or just challenge random people, make new friends , drink beer and join the fun. :)

cool i will do it count me in

Okay..but the beers were about to expire...Did you feel any negative taste or feeling while having them?

They would expire tomorrow, but no adverse effects experienced. They were just fine . :)

Oh! That's great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54