7 DAY BEER CHALLENGE #3: To Follow Or Not To Follow, What Is The Problem?

I know you're eagerly waiting to hear about today's beer right? Before the glug, I thought I would discuss a topic not many people talk about on Steemit.

My post yesterday must have been offensive to someone, because I lost a follower minutes after it went live. I don't know about you, but I always get a little pang of sadness and panic when that happens. I know, it's not personal - after all, most of my followers don't know me from a bar of soap, nor I them. It could have been for various reasons, as there were plenty to choose from:

  1. They don't follow people who post under 7 day challenges
  2. They are strongly opposed to alcohol
  3. My use of a frivolous topic to highlight the plight of animal and people abuse
  4. The one swear word I used
  5. They are from Namibia
  6. They accidentally followed me in the first place and are now rectifying their mistake

That's usually what happens when I see someone has unfollowed me, I try and figure out why.

Oh, except for the time I unfollowed someone first and they (un)followed suit straight after!

Now we all have our opinions, to which we are entitled, no matter how much we believe our opinion is right and other's wrong, the dictionary definition of the word is:

a view or judgement formed about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge

So when I try and guess why I lost a follower, I am using my opinions in the deduction - see the list above - which are * not necessarily based on fact or knowledge! * They definitely weren't based on fact or knowledge (unless I got lucky, like when you win the lottery!) I am therefore left with the conclusion that my guess, or opinion, is based on drum roll here a.s.s.u.m.p.t.i.o.n.

a thing that is accepted as true or as certain to happen, * without proof *

Before you ask "What does all of this have to do with beer?" Don't worry, I'll get to that in a minute!

Once I have lost a follower on Steemit, I probably won't ever get them back, but that's OK, because there are plenty of other people to take their place. People who aren't offended by, or bored with, or dislike my posts, or are merely cutting down on the number of people they follow! I'm not being complacent here, but I would rather have followers who gain something from my posts, preferably something positive or of value.

Which finally brings me to today's beer, none other than Stella Artois, once again courtesy of my beloved husband.

20180315_162658-1.jpg

Rule 3 - The Picture

Yes, the curvaceous silver woman next to the bottle popped the cap off, and she was in no way perturbed by this beer's apparent notorious nickname 'wife beater'. In fact, I don't think many people in South Africa are, I just happen to have a husband who hails from the UK and therefore was able to give me a bit of a rundown on the adverse effects of the beer, including the tarnished common name.

The beer may have a bad reputation in the UK, but people are oblivious here and it's selling really well.

Do you see the correlation now, between my lost follower and the beer?

Sheldon Cooper 15032018164403.jpg

Rule 3 - About The Beer Lager

Interestingly, I found this info about the beer's lager's bad rep

An international lobbying company tried to remove references to a client's brand of lager as the "wife beater" from the online encyclopedia Wikipedia.

Stella Artois used to market itself under the slogan "reassuringly expensive" but became popularly known in Britain as the "wife beater" beer because of its high alcohol content and perceived connection with aggression and binge drinking.

Now, inquiries by the Labour MP Tom Watson have revealed attempts by Portland Communications, which is run by Tony Blair's former adviser Tim Allan, to improve the brand's online reputation on behalf of its client, the brewer AB InBev.

You can read the full story here

The Sampling In Compliance With Rule 2

This is a very nice beer, apparently it's actually a lager, but who cares? It tastes better than our local South African beers! Unfortunately I won't be buying it again because it's too expensive 16 ZAR = 1£! but I really enjoyed it, and if I'm honest, the reputation does bother me - if only I hadn't known!

Here are the rules of the contest, use your discretion. I was nominated by @doomsdaychassis and his beer posts are actually about the beer!

  1. You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  2. The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  3. You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  4. Nominate someone every day
  5. If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  6. Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.
  7. NEW RULE tag @trumpman to give him recognition for his contest

I'm following rule 5 today, in honour of my lost follower.

Sort:  

You should nominate the person that unfollowed you :)

Genius 😂😂😂

i am just petty like that . lol

I promise I will never ever, ever unfollow you! And if I do, like accidentally because I dropped my phone and pressed unflow trying to catch it, I'll follow you again, straight away, twice!

who was it? we can make a bunch of funny meme posts calling them out. It could be the next 7 day challenge to call someone out who has unfollowed you

I'm not telling! 😨 oh my gosh, what have I started?

Hahahaha! I had to put the screen rotation on to see the whole meme, hilarious! 😁

You're full of bright ideas, maybe I should nominate you in a 7 day vodka challenge! 😜

lol. i don't have that kind of money.

Congratulations @emeraldearth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37