Seven Days Beer Challenge: Day 3 - Castle Lite Lager Beer

Today's beer is slightly different from the beers of Day 1 and Day 2. Those were what is known today as Stouts. Today's candidate is Castle Lite - and the cork describes it as Extra Cold Lagered Premium Beer.

As you would expect, the word lager is of German origin and means (storeroom or warehouse) which is used to describe a type of beer that is conditioned at low temperature. I found out that such beers could be pale, golden, amber or dark.

Castle Lite is pale. The bottle contains 375ml of the liquid which has 3.8% alcoholic content. It was sold for the same price of the milk stout (about $0.5). I think this was my second time of seeing this beer, but it is my first time of drinking it. It tasted better than the Legend but slightly worse than the milk stout. However, the taste is tolerable for non-beer drinkers. In my opinion, it tasted a little lighter and better than Heineken.According to what I found online about lager beers, they are also distinguished from other types of beers by the use of Saccharomyces pastorianus yeast. These beers are fermented using cold storage maturation. What this means is, if they are telling nothing but the truth, this beer was brewed using a process known as cool fermentation then it was allowed to mature in a cold environment. Hence the title Extra Cold Lagered Premium Beer.[1]

Like the previous beer, I consider the Castle Lite to be cheaper than it would have been if it was wine. As I mentioned in the first post in this challenge, this size of beer is the exception and not the rule in this country. Most beers are 60cl, so finding a beer corked in bottles less than that size takes some work. It is not that the breweries do not manufacture beers in small containers at all; they do. However, a smart brewer would do more in big bottles than small ones because regular beer drinkers would not touch this one with a long stick. Something about us demands big bottles. It must be the weather. Or maybe we have racked up quite a threshold for alcohol over the years.However, if you insist on buying a buddy of your beers of this size, prepare to buy at least ten bottles.

Finally, the bottle is returnable as are most bottles in this country. The beer contains less carbohydrate, up to 40% or so the bottle claims than other beers. Please do not drink and drive, as if that was possible!

Rules

You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
The beer must be something you have never tasted before
You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
Nominate someone every day
If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink
Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Thank you @trumpman for starting this challenge and thanks @mobbs for nominating me. I hope I got it right.

I'd like to nominate @opaulo for this challenge because he seems like a guy who would appreciate a good beer.

Thanks for reading.

More reading about lager at:

  1. Wikipedia

Your boy,
@churchboy

Sort:  

You're on, @churchboy! My favourite beverage! How could I refuse such a challenge? I have not posted anything for some time. I can feel it -- the drought is over!

Yes, I checked. I figured that some bottles of beer would douse you and bring you out of steem retirement. Two months is a long time! I look forward to the beers you will come up with.

Wow, its nice to see you do the beer challenge👊 and yes, i am a fan. I look forward to the daily reviews.

Thanks a lot. I hope to complete the challenge.

At day 3, you are almost halfway @churchboy. You are doing a great work showing off new brands I'll definitely try soon. Thank you for sharing and keeping us informed

Careful. I might nominate you if you're not careful :)

Congratulations @churchboy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Beer challenge.
When am I gonna be nominated??
😁😁

Hahahaha. Nominating you is not a problem but you must promise to finish the challenge! It is so good to see you here.

Yea.
Steemit is so much fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36