7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 1

in #seven-day6 years ago (edited)

Ooh, this looks like fun - thanks to @scalextrix for the nomination... I think...

Wow, just seven songs from my youth, I will have to make these count!

First up, it just has to be the anthem of my early teenage years: The Jam's "When You're Young":

Not the greatest of videos (my, don't they look young!) - in fact, it was only years later that I discovered there actually was a video for this on the Video Snap VHS, if I remember correctly - but what a song! The sound of Paul's slashing Rickenbacker 330 and Bruce's pumping 4001 all backed up by Rick's super-sharp drumming - the helpless 12 year old me was hooked! A-wa-ho! My life was timeless, my days were long and I was ready to fall in love with anyone. Life was a drink and I got drunk, when I was young...

Having left as a long-haired Genesis-listening Greeb, my recently-back-from-Uni-big-brother (freshly sporting a Weller-esque feather-cut and Harrington, natch) was delighted to see our bedroom now adorned with pictures of The Jam, The Specials and The Clash - most hastily torn from the pages of Smash Hits as the NME was just waaay to cool to deface.

Our local Boots had a bin for "out-of-chart" singles which we would raid religiously, funded with my paper-round money. Triumphantly coming up for air, clutching the Woking Trio's previous release - "Strange Town" - for the bargain price of 49p (sans picture cover, unfortunately) was like unearthing a holy relic.

A few years pass... I turn over my 'O' Level English Lit paper: the question read something like "Critique a poet who has had a big influence on your life."

I write out the lyrics to "When You're Young" and declare Weller the Second Coming.

I got a 'C'.

Right then @willcottrell, watcha got?

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

Ha ha nice pick @bernard.mcc, today was my last pick, my 7 days are already gone, cant wait to see what you have in store for us!

Cool, thanks @scalextrix! I think I can feel the DKs coming on...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65