Stranger (Secret Forest) - Korean Justice Drama

in #series7 years ago

Since my learning Korean stagnated a little I wanted to watch some Korean Series to get a better sense for the language. So I go to Netflix, type in "Korean", Stranger is the first series that pops up, it is Korean audio with german and english subtitles- excellent. Netflix had some weird stuff going on lately (Amy Schumer ie) but I am still loving it .

I have heard how Korean dramas are supposed to be good but the acting and cinematic quality of Stranger blew me away. The characters are so intriguing! The protagonist is the Korean Prosecutor Hwang Shi-mok (played by Jo Seung-woo) that had brain surgery because of the violent outbursts he had as a child, since then he has been almost incapable of feeling emotions. However if you expect the classic "He does not understand human interaction" stick, then you might be pleasantly surprised that a lot of Shi-mok's deductions are actually based on the human interaction that he observes.

The whole cast is phenomenal. I especially loved the two female supports in the shy but determined prosecutor Young Eun-soo and the extroverted and bold police officer Han Yeo-jin.

Without giving away any spoilers the story evolves around corruption within the prosecutor office, there are a lot of twists and turns and you can't help but trying to connect the dots yourself. The last 3rd of the series and the Finale are sadly a little weak compared to the rest of the show, but overall I would still recommend it to anyone who loves to watch good series.

안녕히 가세요

Sort:  

I've never watched Korean TV, but I love Korean movies like "The Vengeance Trilogy", The Wailing and Train to Busan.

Does this make us weebs still? Since it's not Japanese.

Well I watch Anime as well :3, but there is not much good stuff recently.

This was my first KR-Series, maybe I will take a look into the movies you mentioned, it seems like there are some really good korean actors.

The Wailing is insanely good, it starts out and you think it's some dumb comedy then it completely changes tone. Oldboy (the last movie in the vengeance trilogy) is also amazing, you can watch that first as the vengeance trilogy is 3 unconnected movies.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0364569/

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5215952/

Oh I watched Old Boy 10 years ago. I thought it was Japanese ^^*. Hell of a creepy movie, if I remember correctly. This psychological stuff always gets me.

To be fair most Japanese stuff I saw had pretty trashy acting, so I should have known Old Boy can't possibly be Japanese :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76