Colony (Netflix series): It's ok, but has been cancelled so it doesn't matter

in #series5 years ago

I am always on the search for a good sci-fi series. Sadly, I have been disappointed for the most part and the last sci-fi series that I found truly captivating was Battlestar Gallactia. I had high hopes for Colony because it focuses on something that is a bit more realistic than a group of spaceships constantly traveling through space.


source

Very little is actually explained or shown about the invaders but Los Angeles is now surrounded by a wall and the people inside the "colony" are not allowed to leave. Goods such as food and medical supplies are brought in from heavily guarded checkpoints but other than that, no one is allowed in or out. The premise is that some aliens arrived at some point in the recent past and very quickly dominated the defenses of the city and presumably the world.

nup_171096_0071.jpg
source

The people inside the colony are governed by strict rules and are ruled by other humans. We don't really get to see the supposed aliens. There are high-tech drones that police the city and suggest that the technology of the invaders is far beyond what humans have. To be honest this promise of seeing the world outside of the colony, and the invaders (referred to as "hosts" ) are not shown to us. This is actually what kept me watching because sometimes we see glimpses of the world outside the colony walls and it appears to be in complete ruin.


source

We see these humanoid suits from time-to-time but the few instances where the face mask is opened it reveals only electronics. The allure of "who are the hosts?" is what keeps many people, including me, watching.

As far as the story is concerned it actually moves a lot slower than I would like it to.

The main protagonists Will and Katie Bowman (played by Sawyer from Lost and Sarah from Prison Break) are a married couple that are on opposite sides of the overlord / resistance movement - only Will is unaware that his wife is actually an operative for the resistance. Will is a high-ranking police official for the human-led puppet regime in the area. He doesn't believe in the enforcement that he is performing but does so in order to protect his family from being punished.

While it is a decent show and has a high production value, it appears as though the appeal was not widespread enough because the show will not continue past the already existing 3 seasons. I can't even say for sure if the series wraps up or just abruptly ends because I have not watched season 3 yet. For die-hard sci-fi fans itching for a nerd-fix, this might be a good one, however I can't really say it is epic because I don't believe it is.

I suppose I will watch all of season 3 and save my rating for then. After all, just because something is only 3 seasons long doesn't mean it can't be great. It just kind of depends on how they finish this up

Rating intentionally withheld

Sort:  

I will wait for your rating. i will wait comments and opinions to your followers. Thank you

I think I'll wait for your rating to decide whether or not to watch the show.

The walls are thicker than the sky scrapers lol.
Fake walls!
This series could be written by Trump.
Anyways, enjoy!

It sounds a little bit like some other shows that were on in the past. With a little more of a cloud surrounding the bad guys. Falling Skies and Wayward Pines come to mind. Maybe a little bit of The 100 too. I thought Fringe was a pretty spectacular Sci Fi show that was always making me say WTF!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47