Bonding (Netflix Show): short...entertaining... weird

in #series5 years ago

At first glance, Bonding seems like it is going to be a racy show about a dominatrix working in New York City and the ins and outs of her work life. Instead, we got a "tweener" TV show that probably gives young adults a bad ideas about career choices.

D47t9w3UEAAC0qv.jpg
source

So the story starts out typical enough: Pete (Brendan Scannell) is having trouble paying his rent just like a majority of people in NYC and as he is running out of options he runs into "Tiffany" (Zoe Levin,) who is a good friend from high-school.

As luck has it, Tiffany needs an assistant for her extremely popular dominatrix business and Pete seems to fit the bill in that he is desperate and will do basically anything. One thing that doesn't make sense is that Tiffany needs one of his job functions to be a "bodyguard" and since Pete looks like he probably weighs about 130 lbs soaking-wet with a backpack and boots on, I don't know how he would carry out those duties.

Bonding-Season-1-Netflix.jpg
source

Some critics are calling this series "sexy as hell" and I mean, i guess so. However, I find most of the dialogue to be quite cringe-worthy. I think the only interesting aspect of this show is how Tiffany (who also goes by Mistress May)'s life is shown outside of being a sex-worker. I once knew a woman on a social level who was a dominatrix (I was NOT one of her customers) and if she didn't tell you that she does this for a living, you would never know. She was not domineering and was actually a bit shy in public. Never judge a book by its cover I guess.

The best thing about this show is that it is very low commitment as the episodes are less than 20 minutes long. I don't think the show is terrible, but I also don't think it is very good. It is not an accurate representation of any profession and well, I don't think they were going for that. This is basically 90210 with some uncomfortable scenes in it. I can't say for sure who this is for, some people might actually find it entertaining. The only reason why I am rating this as "mid-card" is because the episodes were a perfect length so there is very little wasted time.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Bonding the rating of....


GBqz54O.jpg

Sort:  

Less than 20 minutes long.
I also like short episodes.

Something else.
I am currently watching a Zombie series, called: Black Summer.
Your thoughts on this show?

I thought it was ok but filled with stuff that doesn't make sense but this is true of really any zombie film or series. I did like that they tell the same story from different perspectives without narration though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am guessing I will probably skip this one. Not sure how I would explain it showing up in my feed to my wife anyway. Plus there is the fact that the kids never bother to switch to the kid profile when they come over 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53