Be Sepsis Aware To This Life Threatening Health Illness

in #sepsis7 years ago

20171012_155520.png20171012_155552.png

I was admitted into hospital 20th August 2017 with severe sepsis and sepsis shock.
Sepsis was something i didnt know anything about, so i wasnt aware of the symtoms.
On the night of the 16th of August i was just feeling a little unwell but just put it down to my Autoimmune Diseases Lupus, Sjgroens Syndrome and fibromialga.
The next afternoon i was feeling more unwell and breathless and very weak but still didnt think anythink of it.
On the Friday i was feeling more weak extremly cold and would have shivers then i would be burning up and my back, Chest, Tummy and head sore. But still thinking nothing of it.
Come the Saturday i was finding it harder to get around couldnt get up the stairs the pain was getting worse and now also the kidney area and i would be so cold with shivers but also burn up. But again still thinking nothing serious just thinking " Oh maybe am just having a bad flare up of my autoimmune diseases.
Then come the Sunday 20th August my whole body was in such much pain The Tummy, Chest,Back, Kidney area and head. But i was extremley cold and shaking so so bad as if i was having a fit.
I got myself to the shower and sat on the floor of the shower with it so hot to try and warm up, but the shakes were just not stopping. I got out the shower and got back into bed to try and get warm.
By this time my husband was panicing and telling me i needed to go the hospital, but me being being very stubborn i was no no i will be ok it will pass.
I wasnt getting any warmer and the shakes were getting worse and my hands were turning a different colour. A grey black colour so i struggled to walk and to get into the shower to where i just flopped on the floor of the shower where i stayed for about 20minutes. My poor husbands nerves where gone and hes wanting to call an ambulance and am still "No i will be ok". My husband had to help me up and out the shower and dry and dress me where i got back into bed, where i said i will be ok.
This went on for a few more hours and i wasnt getting any warmer and the pain and shakes were getting worse and i started to cough.
My huband and sons and family were now all at me to get the hospital as something wasnt right and also the colour of me. So basically through peer pressure i agreed to go the hospital.
My eldest son drove me and my husband the hospital and we went to book in.
When we got the desk i was taken straight through and put into a room onto a bed and then transferred to a ward and i was put on drips.
I was on drips for 2 weeks and when i was discharged was given more antibiotics.
I was suppose to stay in the hospital for a further week as i took the tablets as i had such bad reactions to 2 of the antibiotics which is another story,but they needed the bed so discharged me.
It is now 12th October and i am still bed bound as i now have Post Sepsis Syndrome which had left me still with pain in my Chest,Tummy,back,kidneys, head, whole of body,dizziness, i fall over, breathlessness,swelling of tummy and body,I forget things , my concentration is not good,my taste has changed, my eyes dont always focus.No energy.
The Dr explain that i had Post Sepsis Syndrome and he cant give me an answer to when it will go or if i will be left with the Sepsis problems and to see what the hospital say when i go back on Monday 16th October.
I urge everyone to please be aware of Sepsis symptoms and if you have any symptoms ask the Dr or hospital do they think that it is Sepsis.
Please be aware of these symptoms as Sepsis takes more lives than cancer and i am so grateful and thankful to be here today. Its going to be a long progress of getting better, getting back to myself and i am now more prone over the next 18months to getting Sepsis again and other organ infections.
Please remember what the symptoms of this life threatening Sepsis are and make other people aware also.
All take care and stay strong and positive xxx

Sort:  

Congratulations @itsgood2havefun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47