You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Importance, Scalability, and Profitability of SEO VS Advertising with Agencies - Detailed Analysis

in #seo7 years ago

Recently I've run into a Steemit seo problem. Many of us have a stand alone blog where we repost some of our Steemit posts. In addition, there are other interfaces to the Steem blockchain like busy.org where the same post can be found. Crossposting is not good for seo. What do you think is the best way to deal with it, if any? Is it good to add the post's Steemit url as canonical at least in my standalone blog?

Sort:  

Your point is something that I discussed with someone in live conversation a few days ago.

Actually, crossposting reduces the quality and uniqueness of your content. I've noticed that Google discovers Steemkr domain before Steemit official domain. Steemkr domain is not that powerful as compare to Steemit (which has authority backlinks and huge power to compete). As a result, when their bot discovers that the content of Steemkr post and Steemit post is same, it destroys the purpose (which was to rank Steemit, not Steemkr). I've done SEO to my posts (as in How-To series) and speaking for myself, I've found this problem from my first try (A lot of my posts are ranking successfully because of low competition keywords). Though it took 2-3 posts to confidently point out the reason why the ranking of Steemit's official domain is slow and low.

To sum up, yes. That's a big problem in Steemit. Recently, people are introducing new domains like Steemcn etc (country targeted). While this is good for community building, it is bad for SEO (if those domains just copy and paste stuff into their own domain). If that continues, we will have to depend on Google's manual review to rank well, because bot's algorithm is not that smart for now (to differentiate whether it's a copy-paste or just RSS feed between different domains).

Thanks for the detailed reply! I am used to save some of my Steemit my posts to my personal stand alone blog. It is better for Steemit promotion to give them canonical urls pointing to Steemit?

Absolutely. It will help Steemit to gain more visibility (and backlink).

Thanks for that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.35
ETH 2676.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90