Intro to A Crypto Blog SEO Strategy (Case Study)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #seo6 years ago (edited)

SEO Case Study
An SEO case study with my crypto blog, HonorableCrypto.com!

Intro to A Crypto Blog SEO Strategy (SEO Case Study)


My readers may know that I use more than one website to put my content on.

I use Steemit (obviously), Medium, and www.HonorableCrypto.com (my own website). Medium allows me to import a blog post straight from my own website, an incredibly easy process. After doing that, I copy the HTML from the editor of my post and type Steemit.com into my browser. I create a new story and I paste my HTML directly into Steemit. After a couple of finishing touches, voila! I have my post on my own website, Medium, and Steemit. I provide myself backlinks to the post on my own website, where the article was originally posted.

SEO Case Study
Canonical links are a crucial part of my SEO case study!

Canonical Links and Google


Google doesn't penalize for duplicate content, but it can mess some of the SEO up for a website. For this, we need to post a canonical link on the other websites. A canonical link is a link that tells Google which post is my "main" post, thus not affecting my own SEO by placing the other posts above mine. Medium takes care of this all for me, but Steemit doesn't have this service.

While typically a canonical link is supposed to be posted in the header, Steemit doesn't let us change the headers' HTML of our posts (for obvious reason). So instead, I have just accepted the fact that Steemit will outrank my own post at the moment. In the hope of building domain authority, I think it is worth it to currently let my Steemit articles outrank my other articles. The potential for backlinks are more important to me at the current moment than getting a small amount of views if my smaller site somehow ranks on Google.

I firmly believe posting my posts on Medium and Steemit is a good thing to build backlinks (whether they are nofollow or dofollow links), and it is incredibly simple to do. Obviously it takes a great deal of time to build enough authority to get ranked anywhere decent in Google, so I am playing the long game here.

Thanks for reading! There will be updates as I move along, and as HonorableCrypto.com begins to be ranked in Google searches (I am likely still in the sandbox as I only applied to be indexed a week ago).

SEO Case Study

What do you think? Is this a viable strategy? Let me know in the comments below! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98