STEEMIT SEO PART THREE - Headings, Formatting, Styles and Anchor Texts.

in #seo7 years ago

Steemit SEO

Introduction

In the previous two parts of this series on "Steemit SEO", we talked about planning your infrastructure and publish high quality content. Today, I am going to touch on how to use headers, styles and anchor texts in the context of a reader's experience and SEO. If you enjoy the content of this series, I suggest that you follow me as I am trying to publish daily on the topic of SEO.

The Search Engines Wants it's Users to Have a Good Experience

Google, Bing and others wants the people who use them to have a good experience. They want them to find exactly what they want. For that, the search engine is becoming increasingly capable of predicting what users like and what an article is about as well as spotting those who try to manipulate the SERP(Search Engine Ranking Page) for their own benefit.

In the good old days, in was simple to rank. We just stuffed pages with anchor text, headers and style with our target keywords and create at a push of a button 25000 backlinks to websites and directories around the internet. Not anymore.

Using Headers, Styles and Formatting for SEO

copywriting

It's For Better Reading And SEO

On steemit you can use markdown or html tags for headers, styles and formatting. Using them helps both the search engine and your readers to understand your article better and create a more enjoyable experience.

How to Use Headers

Headers are the building block of your article. They help the readers know what is most important about it and jump to the part of your article that is most relevant to them. H1, H2, H3 are hierarchical which mean that they are used by the search engine to understand the major points of your article hierarchically.

For example on steemit.com, the title is by default the H1 of your article. Having multiple H1 may confuse the search engine about what the article is about in the first place. This is why, in the article that you are reading right now, I only use H2, H3 and H4 since the H1 is already taken by the title.

Note: There is no issues at using multiple H2, H3 and H4.

How to Use Styles Properly

Bold and italics can also be used to highlight your particular keyword. But in the context of a fun article to read, I wouldn't overdo it. There are sections of your article that you want to emphasize...and this is what styling is for.

Use Your Keyword(s)...But Not Too Much

If you are looking to rank for a keyword, make sure you are using it in the title of your article as well as in your headings...but be careful of not overdoing it. The search engine despise keyword stuffing.

People don't talk in keywords and it's very easy to overdo it. Instead, try to find related terms and synonyms to help your article feel more natural. The consensus around the keyword density is between 0.5 and 2.5%. If you are curious, you can calculate the keyword density of your article by entering it in this online tool.

Anchor Texts

anchor-text and seo

Anchor texts is the text that you use in a link. Whenever search engine looks at what is the text used to link to an article, it helps it found out what the article or website is about. The mistake people make is to over optimize those. It is good to have the keywords in there but the search engine can recognize when it is overdone.

If you are using Steemit.com to rank your personal or business website use:

  • Your Brand Name
  • Use Your Keywords
  • Use Synonyms of Those Keywords
  • Use a variety of "click here", "read more", etc.

Conclusion

Tomorrow, I am going to cover other aspects of SEO. Most likely, we will go over the first steps you can take to start building backlinks to your website. If you enjoy the content of this series, I suggest that you follow me as I am trying to publish daily on the topic of SEO.

Sort:  

My day job consists of about 80% SEO work on the company website. I have to say @cryptoctopus, this is one of the most succinct and accurate articles I have read on the power of proper formatting for improving rank. Definitely wish I would have found something like this eight years ago when I first started. Thanks for the great work.

I love panda's! Never knew they could type!

Pandas can do anything with the proper tools. I have a special keyboard designed for my less than agile paws that allows me to type like the wind. Not sure if you already knew this, but we pandas are able to run at 20 mph. So you can imagine how fast we can type.

You are hilarious. I love your sense of homor.

The more you Upvote me @bigpanda, The more I will be singing panda panda panda by Desiigner!

I wish you would do this on video and then post it, it would be spectacular!

The people that upvoted his comment have a lot of SteemPower!!!

What do you recommend that people do ? This was really the most informative article I've read since being on steemit @cryptoctopus

I still have difficulty, some of my articles are alright and some fail to get even any attention. 700 followers and still no hype on my account

@journey I have the same problem.

Keep publishing good content. People will put you on their "auto-vote" on you when they see that you are a consistent producer of good content. If you are being here for two months, its too early to quit :-)

@cryptoctopus how do I add you to my auto-vote list... what bot do you use?

Yes that's true , even on bad days , I try to tell myself it's alright and that I'll eventually work my way up (:

This guide is amazing, I would love to have some feature in steemit to save posts! But I guess I can always come back here^^

Thank you for sharing @cryptoctupus, I will applying these tips and looking forward for the next ones :)

Thanks, cryptoctopus ! As a translator and copywriter I write everyday and I've learned quickly that formatting is as important as the content, especially when writing a marketing article.

Well, you learn something every day. I've been guilty of using h1 in the body of the text. I won't make that mistake again.

Done the Steemit Holy Trinity
Follow
Upvote
Resteem
:-)

The styling and formatting helps users find information quickly if they want to skip across the article.

Formatting also helps with making an article look "like quality" and the user will think the author has spent some extra time to make the article very presentable. This in turn helps with keeping bounce rates low as the user is more inclined to stay and read the article.

I mostly use H1 or H2 for the most part. H2 mostly for the other sections. The headers after H3 is a bit much for short articles, perhaps better use for long written pieces.

What would you suggest for people who are just looking to engage with everyone and build a community?

Like I am just here to connect with everyone and add value to the community. And maybe talk to a hell lot of entrepreneurs and help them with their business.

And I am also going to post content on various niche, which are in my field of interest. Like marketing, AI, cryptocurrency, business development, motivation, entrepreneurship and self-development.

Would you please suggest what shall I do?

Then I wouldn't bother about SEO so much for now. Write articles and connect on steemit.chat. Once @zappl is out, you can start using steem like a twitter app and connect that way.

Very helpful @cryptooctopus . After almost a month on steemit I continue to pick up new things every day :) Wish the user-interface included a short tutorial for beginners to help raise the level of content from the start.

Any help perfecting the format ir highly appreciated tho :)

This definitely IS NOT newbie tutorial but a professional SEO Tutorial simplified by his author @cryptooctopus :D But I love the idea :)

Never knew the headers have an SEO effect. Nice! @cryptoctopus

Hey thanks so much for this! Reading through all 4 parts now.
(I'm on the esteem app and it won't take my upvote right now - will make sure to come back on my laptop and fix that!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41