Steemit SEO Casestudy Day 4- Waiting For Automation? (And A Question)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #seo7 years ago

automation-930x620.jpg

Here I am at Day 4 of my SEO Case Study. In here I document what I do, what I learn and how I plan on bringing a test account to a high page authority so that my clients can benefit from it.

@ucluelet is the account on which I am testing my SEO knowledge and methodology. I don't fully know the end game to this. To me it is a fun project that gets me to write. The end goal, of course, is the have an account that would be instrumental in helping my clients rank on the SERP.

What's New?

Alexa Ranking of Steemit as of this morning is 3,877
My @cryptoctopus account has now a Page Authority of 43
@ucluelet still has a Page Authority of 1
Steemit.com has now a Domain Authority of 67

There is some automation that I want to do in order to increase the amount of backlinks to my @ucluelet account. For that, 2 days ago I ordered a gig on fiverr to open the 50 accounts that I can plug into OnlyWire.

So at this point, I am waiting for her to finish the job in order to fully take advantage of OnlyWire.

I am also waiting for the approval on a DoFollow blog related to surfing...it was supposed to take a couple days but it's been 3. I can't wait to start talking surf with guys and have a free DoFollow link on every conversation I have.

Another thing that I have been doing with my @ucluelet account is to find articles on steemit.com about Ucluelet, Tofino or British Columbia. I try to start a conversation and participate to the discussion. I may be misled but from what I am able to gather, every-time we comment, we send a link back to our account.

What I Did Yesterday

  1. Update @ucluelet "About" for specific keywords that I am targeting
  2. Submit an article: https://steemit.com/travel/@ucluelet/top-5-relaxing-things-to-do-in-ucluelet
  3. Added to Ucluelet Trello Board: https://trello.com/b/cbFUpjnZ/ucluelet-british-columbia
  4. Create Youtube Account and Verified It
  5. Created a Facebook Page and filled up the About Section: https://www.facebook.com/pg/Fans-Of-Ucluelet-132859040636684/about/
  6. Used OnlyWire to Autopost account @ucluelet to my five basic social media profiles.
  7. Setup my Twitter Profile: https://twitter.com/YourUcluelet

QUESTION:

Do You Think The Number Of Followers And Comments Could Contribute to SEO Rankings?



Here is what I am thinking. Everytime someone comments on your account, he is adding a link in his "comment" tab of his profile. Also, when one click on the # of "followers" in the profile page, these are all DoFollow links internally.

How much do you think the act of commenting and following/having followers can affect one's page SEO?

Please share your opinion on this matter below.

Sort:  

Here's what I think on the comments front: yes and no. NO because of, as you said, each comment has a link BUT it's an internal link that wouldn't count as a click-out. To my understanding and I could be wrong since I've been out of the game a while, the quality of the link matters more than the existence of the link.

So that brings us to YES as numerous comments do have valid clickout links, such as links to reference articles and generally external sites. Those ideally matter.

In terms of followers, I'm on the fence. And the reason is that I'm running a similar test project trying to determine if the number of followers and engagement here on Steemit can directly correlate to a continuation of engagement off the platform. What I mean is my account is a shared account based on a website. We're relaunching the site soon and are looking to use Steemit as a vector to advertise and as well as the blog portion. Traffic should flow equally from the site to Steemit and from Steemit to the site. Before launching I'm equalizing the estimated number of Steemit followers (quality followers, not the auto-follow ones) and the number of followers I know the site will have (established community that once had a massive database of 30k+ members). If this works, it may inspire other startups to create a Steemit presence as a key part of their engagement campaign.

Therefore as I said, I'm on the fence on how much in-site followers matter vs the number of members Steemit has in general. I'd have to guess it'd be treated on the same level that let's say Instagram followers are treated by search engines but I cannot tell you what that level is.

Didn't mean to hijack your post with this essay response, great project and I'm going to follow you to see how it pans out.

That is actually a great response and I am very curious about what you will find. $3 of upvote for you! ;-)
You are probably right when it comes to followers. For comments, I am really wondering if commenting on related topics that are connected to my niche would have an effect...especially high quality comments that create engagement (like yours) where people would actually click through to my account or article I refer to.

Heh thanks. I've been thinking of posting my findings so far as we've tried the community transfer through several platforms now, although it's been a few years since the last attempt. I'll gather my thoughts on it and make the post later if you want to watch my feed.

So far my take on the high quality comments is the Steemit community, through the various levels of quality and engagement desire of posters, inadvertently discourages discussion in comments. Prior to registering I spoke to a buddy who's been here much longer than I. I asked him about discussion in comments as a potential replacement to the old message board system (since our site orbits around message board front/databases). His response was that due to the number of spam/shit comments and lack of reciprocal engagement by some OPs to insightful/long comments, commenting isn't what it can potentially be. The latter I'd see as particularly problematic as it discourages commenting and thereby discourages the insertion of links as references and so forth. If I wrote you my War and Peace essay and you replied "thanks for your comment" I wouldn't bother commenting again.

There's also a question of etiquette which you may set me straight on. If I reply to your comment but a link to my own post is included, I assume I may get flagged by someone who is not necessarily yourself who disagrees with comment linking. I've noticed that Steemit etiquette is a highly subjective matter. While linking my own post in a comment is internal linking, the prevalence of this practice in facilitation of an indepth discussion would also naturally lead to a prevalence in linking outside sources, thus improving the SEO value.

I think that a lot of those issues can be solved. For example, chainbb is a message board interface built on top of steem by @jesta (check out chainbb here). It is possible to get rid of "bot" comment by disqualifying the custom json of it's source.

The goal is this format is for people to be able to host their own forum on their own domain and have full control over it...just like phpbb. I think that might just be what you are looking for.

When it comes to linking in the comment section, I think it is just a matter of relevance. For example, just above, I shared a link that is helpful and add to the discussion. There is no reason for anyone to flag that.

Looking into it. I was not aware that Jesta build a message board, only the stats service. This may and may not work for our purposes. It would depend on the level of control and the potential for censorship (flagging). Can't say much until I really explore what Jesta made so I'll stfu for now.

Finally got my post up, you can check it out here. Tried to not make it a wall of text.

Talk with him on steemit.chat :-) im Ill look into your post

hello am humbelly request plzzz give me vot my pics am very
need ur help so plzzz plzzz give me like and fallow
i request u i beg u plzzzzzz

Flagged. Bring value instead of begging

On this page https://steemit.com/ucluelet/@ucluelet/discover-ucluelet-the-best-kept-secret-on-the-west-coast-of-vancouver-island alone I count 11 links to your clients with 2 of them on the website main page. Is it good to put more than 3 links to the same domain in one page?

I have read sometimes ago that google consider more than 3 links to same website in one page as bad link. Or maybe I am wrong? Will you enlighting me?

you may be right. I will look into this.

Do you mean that when you comment on other people's posts about Ucluelet/Vancouver, etc. that you are also including a @ucluelet post within that comment to get the DoFollow link?

Wouldn't SteemIt eventually perhaps end DoFollow links, or is this something they would have no interest in putting NoFollow links?

Morning @hustletoparadise! DoFollow links internally are great as far as Steemit.com goes. When it comes to your own articles having outbound DoFollow activated, you must have attained a certain level of reputation...which encourage good behavior from people who would just want to spam.

Solid work. Really interested to see how much the 50 account package combined with onlywire helps! I think this project is going to work and be very helpful to the Steemit community. Keep those backlinks coming!

Yeah, well I don't think it's going to be the be all end all of backlinks. But it's a foudation to build upon. Will keep you updated :-)

Do you plan to menotize that account other then the money you get from steemit? And are ghost accounts allowed by steemit?

Look at what she does. She is getting paid for YOU to write an article for her websites. What are ghost accounts?

Who is "she"? Got confused..By ghost I mean like a secondary account. Is it ok to own two or more accounts on steemit?

Oh shoot sorry. I forgot to put the link in there: https://www.fiverr.com/memeke/publish-your-guest-posts-on-quality-travel-blogs?funnel=16f960c6-827f-4738-a900-3f620cc77fd7

As for ghost account, there are people with hundreds of squat account. Think @google @facebook @amazon, @webdev, etc....they are all taken.

Interesting, as I'm new to Steemit I overlooked that standard google rules of SEO still apply here. By creating a facebook page, youtube and twitter accounts it guarantees google sees you as an authority and ranks you higher. I'm not familiar with Trello or OnlyWire so will look into them, thanks for this!

my pleasure @sportinvestor . If you want to know about my methodology, just go back and read the articles that I started on the topic 4 days ago.

Anything is good that makes steem better. I'm not much of a blogger, but a lot of my friends are invested or blog here so i wish this platform to grow at least for their sake.
You're doing great, thanks for your hard work.

Interesting. I don't know anything about SEO so some clarification of these points from someone in the know would be useful so we could all optimise our Steemit accounts.

I'm trying to create another way for a steemit account to have value. If my efforts pays out, it could be a good way to monetize Steemit in order to get more $$$ to buy Steem. :-)

Yes it should be done because followers are also very important.

I teend to think page views overall on steemit are very low for the vast majority of users. Even my posts that have made significant value have still had a very low amount of actual engagement relative to voting numbers.

Adding followers who also don't engage actively just furthers that paradigm.

Comments on the other hand necessarily carry at least a single view with them and some traffic both in their creation and subsequent viewing, even if only by the author. So in that sense comment leaving is a significant value booster, especially in a low view environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49