Launching The Steemit SEO Case Study - Domain Authority & Page Authority

in #seo7 years ago (edited)

Steemit.com SEO Strategy

Introduction

As mentioned before, I am a marketer who works in the tourism industry on the west coast of Canada. Lately, our agency has to focus more and more on the SEO aspect of the business. After yesterday' article, I was doing more digging and I discovered something fascinating (more on that below).

I decided to launch a case study.

I will follow a step by step SEO process and measure every steps along the way. I will report the effect to you and over time, we will be able to see what works and what doesn't.

The Project

I own the account @ucluelet. It will be an account dedicated to a small town on the west coast of Vancouver Island in British Columbia by the same name.

I have multiple clients in that town who needs to rank higher on the search engine. If I can turn this account into a premium source of backlinks, that's a big win for everyone.

My goal is to build

steemit.com/@ucluelet / steemit.com/@ucluelet
into a premium tier one backlink source for all Ucluelet related content.

What is a tier one backlink?

A tier one backlink is a link source that you own and control that is of high quality. Behind it are contextual and relevant backlinks. Behind a tier one backlink we find second tier backlinks to prop up the tier one.

What is most important is that the backlinks are relevant to the topic one wants to cover.

Domain Authority and Page Authority

Domain Authority: Checked!

As mentioned in my previous post, Steemit has a very high domain authority: 58 to be exact. That is something that is extremely hard to achieve by yourself. You would need years of work to get there on your own. Fortunately, by blogging on steemit, we have a head start.

Page Authority: That's what fascinating

This is the thing I discovered yesterday. Here is the page authority of @ucluelet:
tourism ucluelet seo.png
and here is the page authority of my account:
cryptoctopus SEO.png

The page authority of certain accounts could have a big effect the rankings of their articles and the strength of the backlinks coming from them.

Success Metric: Page Authority

There is a lot of possibilities here. I have yet to go know if commenting on relevant articles such as the one related to travel or tourism would help increase my page authority for examples. I have a lot of theories but I will have to have a systematic approach to figure that out.

Step One for Today

cryptoctopus SEO2.png

It might not be a very contextual link but it should help in giving it a little boost. I will share with you all that I am doing in future articles and give you a report so that if you have a similar project as mine you can increase your account page authority.

Sort:  

I'm very curious about this. I have noticed that comments under a post are doing internal linking too...can't wait to see what you discover.

Could you make an article specific to how backlinks work and what is the benefits of having backlinks, in improving seo. So that rookies like me could have a better grasp over your articles.

Thanks for commenting. I will!

I will read that for sure then.

Domain authority might be 58 for now.. But if we have plans to take over Facebook, there is no doubt that Steemit.com will have a 100 DA as well.. Then we will be rocking :)

And the cool part is, all the backlinks created today, will be like buying penny stocks.. Over time, they will grow in power as the site grows :)

I think I said something like this in your previous post too.. Awesome stuff! Great idea bro.

Yes. It's pretty exciting.

Look forward to hearing about your results.

Great, i'm looking forward to see what you're going to upload next about SEO.
Thanks for your hard work)

this is so cool, and can't wait to learn more about this.

great to learn SEO skills - i will try to learn some skills from you

Thank you for the information master @cryptoctopus

Thanks for the info

Interesting project. Upvoted

And Highly rEsteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21