Learning To Drive A Semi

in #semi6 years ago

I didn’t do a video for this one, well...because that probably wouldn’t have gone well.

Background Story, Shall We


When I was in third grade, my dad thought it was about time I learn how to drive, being on a farm and all. We got into the manual Ford Bronco and started down the back dirt road. It was going alright. I didn’t really know what I was doing of course, but we were getting somewhere.

Soon, we were getting close to home. Now, I swear I remeber hearing my dad tell me to park in front of the garage. Well, my dad didn’t teach me how to stop, and so you can just about imagine how that ended. I was too traumatized for a long time to dare try drive again.

Driving A Semi


After wheat harvest finished, the Big Man asked me if I wanted to learn how to drive the truck. I knew he wasn’t referring to an automatic truck. He said we could drive it around in the wheat field, you know, so I don’t ruin anything or get into an accident.

78C702EC-81C8-47C5-BFE8-7A0D20DDD752.jpeg

I thought he was going to have me in the quad, but no, we climbed on up into his semi! Oh boy! Driving in the field was a good idea, but not a good idea. Good idea because of the wide open space to drive around. Bad idea because my seat was bouncing around so I couldn’t stabilize my foot on the pedal. It was a jerky ride!

It was pretty neat to drive that big ol’ machine around for a bit. It was going fairly well until we reached the point of learning to stop. I got flustered trying to figure out the clutch and doing things in the correct order so I wouldn’t ruin something. Although, I put some of the blame on the instructor. He forgets that newbies literally need to be told every little step to take. It was my first time after all!

20872E59-BD05-4BC0-BCB4-D53D766FFF4F.jpeg
Let’s try going home on the road now.

Chester, our dog, had a fun time following me around the field. I’m pretty sure that’s the most exercise he’s gotten in one day.

In the end, it was fun. I would definitely need more practice to feel comfortable driving that thing (or a manual in general), but maybe one day.

Well, that was my Sunday morning excitement! It’s amazing the new things I’ll try in order to share with you all. Hope you’re having a great day!

Sort:  

The thrill of trying something new. Driving a big truck in an open field - what a great experience! If you keep practicing, it'll become amazingly simple. You'll hardly remember when it was difficult! @ironshield

Just like when I first learned how to drive a car...with my mom haha!

Keep practicing and before long you will be floating gears and moving along with no problems. I drove a big truck for quite a few years OTR, starting out driving, it takes some time, just keep on learning.

Sounds exactly like my learning how to drive experience! Except that my mom taught me. When she wanted me to stop at the closed garage. At least my aim wasn't too great because I collided with a huge potplant instead of the door - or wall!

Haha on no!! At least you didn’t cause too much damage! I’m glad I’m not the only one with a bad first-time driving experience :)

Absolutely! I think it's probably a girl thing. Boys like vehicles, machinery, gadgets and so driving is more natural. I still get nervous when my mother is in the car with me

My wife won't even drive my mini-van claiming it's too big. Congratulations on meeting a challenge head-on! Women truck drivers are so sexy!

A mini-van! My husband would never let me drive one of those. Only the big vehicles for this gal haha! As for the semi, I would have preferred a steadier seat.

The first time I drove a scooter breaking was not natural for me - you are very brave :)

I’ve never driven a scooter. Do they have a clutch system, too? And thanks! Sometimes you just have to go and do without thinking so much and backing out.

Driving a scooter is really easy, for normal people. Yes, sometimes you do just have to not think. How convenient to have a whole field to practice.

haha! howdy this fine Sunday night hebrewhousewife! well it's great post material if nothing else! Those things take anyone some time to learn but I love the height and view you get, great job!

It’s kind of cool driving a big ol’ semi. Makes it feel like you’re driving with your bum on the ground when you get into a car! All I know is that I’m not driving truck during harvest time.

haha! yes that is very stressful and you are needed in other areas of great importance. it's nice as far as that view thought ain't it?

I have ridden in one before but never drove one. In a nice safe environment I would give it a try!

My Niece drove OTR for years, but decided to raise kids instead. I LOVE a standard; much more control! It could be worse, I used to drive a seventy two passenger school bus; at least your load is quiet, LOL!

Ladies are good drivers, as they usually don't take as many chances. :D

Good choice on deciding to raise kids instead :) I remember riding on those big buses. Not the greatest memories haha!

It’s funny you should say that. My mom is way overly, how should I put it... cautious in her driving. Oh man, her driving will make you sick!

There are a few drivers who I wonder how they survive their road trips! They kind of drift to where they are going, ignorant of those they cut off or nearly hit.

BUT GOD Protects dumb animals and stupid people....
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83