The healing power of thankfulness

in #selfsteem4 years ago (edited)

Being thankful can help you to improve as a person. Being thankful for the simple things in life like having water, food or a home can help your mind to be more positive and find the good things in life. Here I show you my experience.

sky united-states-louisville-scenic-loop-sky.jpg

Hello everyone. This is my first time that I post on Steemit and I though it is a good idea to talk about something that has affected me possitively and in the long run it can help others.

Everything started when someone, I can't remember if this person was a therapist, psycologist or a friend, told me to keep a gratitude diary. The idea of this diary was to write down every day on it at the begining of the day three thing that I was thankful for. It didn't matter what it could be, but just think and write down these three things. I was sceptical at the begining, but I was commited to try anything because I had self steem and confidence problems and I was committed to solve that situation, so it was a good idea to give it a try.

I lost my first gratityde diary but I made another one. Always there were days when I forgot to do it but still I was able to be consistent, I kept my gratitude diary on a place where it was clearly visible so I can remember to do it. With th e pass of time the gratitude thoughts during the day were automatic and I was able to see good things in life and give them the importance they deserve. I started to get out of the negative spiral where I was stuck and start to feel more free than before.

This was a very good exercise to feel better with myself because now I don't see the world as a place that is all full of bad things like I used to do in the past and I was able to feel better in my mind and most importantly I started feeling extremely peaceful because I was able to ignore the bad thoughts whenever I wanted. Now I'm more balanced between perceiving the good in bad things in life, not only the bad ones, I don't feel that the world is falling down in caos or bad things. The effect of this trick is not perceived inmediately but I can assure you through my experience that it works.

It is not necessary to be thankful for very complex things, there are days when you're thankful for at least being able to breath, having water to drink, being able to sleep at least, for a friend, for having internet the light and warmness of the sun or for having a friend. There are days when there are greater things like having success in a new project, a new job, a new house or earning more money.

This day I'm thankful for the delicious food I ate in the morning, the music I listened to and the cold weather that we have in my area. I'm also thankful for having access to Steemit. I hope this can help you if you are looking for self improvement and have a good mental health, if you have any question don't hesitate in contacting me and don't hesitate on putting this trick into practice. See you!

Sort:  

Thanks to everyone for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38