Self Reflection

in #selfreflection5 years ago


Graduation

With graduation going on all over the U.S., I've been reflecting a lot on what I've done since graduating. I graduated two years ago from U.C. Berkeley with a Bachelor's in Architecture.

I knew while I was in school architecture wasn't something I wanted to do for the rest of my life, but at the same time I just wanted to finish school and start making some money to get a car and travel more. Fast forward to now, I lost my job a month ago and have been immersing myself back into programming and my other creative passions.

I live in the bay area so it would be wise for me to take advantage of my surroundings and go straight into tech, but I also get these creative itches where I know I could be doing more with my creative skills.

I wish there was more time in the day where I get everything I want done. Nowadays I ask myself a lot more "If I do this what will become of it" and I think it has to do with school and majoring in something I knew I wouldn't pursue. I don't regret going to school for architecture.

I learned a lot of very useful design tools like CNC, woodcutting, 3d printing, laser cutting, fabrication with robot arms, 3d modeling, mastering the adobe suite. I also realized that we never had a class for those things in school. Our teachers would demand work from us and we'd have to figure out how to use the machines and software through google and youtube videos.

If I could go back I'm not sure if I would have searched for a job in architecture right after school. I mainly did it cause I needed the money, but it may have been a better time investment to study more programming and creative skills.....

I just want to say some things to myself.... Even though I don't know what exactly to do next, at least I know what makes me happy and gives me fulfillment. At least I know what I don't want to do. I feel like a lot of people get caught up into thinking what they "need to do" and when they finally get free time they don't know what they want to do. Those type of people end up following mainstream trends and never discovering their hidden skills or talents.

Anyways I feel this has gotten long enough and isn't formatted right, but it's nice to get things out of my head and I know I'll be looking back at this probably a year from now when I feel lost and confused.


Series Life
Camera Canon EOS 6D
Lens Canon f/1.8 50mm
Location Berkeley, CA
BTC Donations 15q9V6UZJbNe7CFPNLiQzPpfozhbcpgAwQ
ETH Donations 0xe2b5e75f490c75ab1557e1e4351af75a5d8a778f

Check out the gear I use!
Follow me on Instagram!
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel!
My custom-made presets!

If you enjoyed this content please help by UpVoting or Resteem!

Sort:  

I graduated a year ago. And I did exactly what I planned to do. Get started in business. It was not an easy task, but I did it. What I didn't think about was what I'd do when I couldn't sustain my business.

Ideas and plans hardly ever come out fully formed. But when we get started and just keep building even with our eyes closed, we always get to that destination.

I love your piece

Sometimes I feel like I don't know where I'm going, but at least I know I'm getting there haha. Thank you! =]

Do not confused. Fix a target at any field. You will be the winner. Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28