[31 Weeks of Self-Love Challenge] - 1

in #selflovechallenge7 years ago (edited)

1 - What is your biggest struggle with loving yourself?

I think there are two main reasons why at one point in my life I hated being who I was, one of those reasons was what other people said about me, it is very common that in school there are cruel children and even teachers, although It may sound silly, the things that most mark us are those that happen to us when we are children, the emotional traumas, our fears, everything starts when we are little, and I think that reason was the cause of so much insecurity that I had in my youth, I was very self-conscious with my body and I could not enjoy the simple things of youth like my friends. The boys told me '' you're too fat to like me '', or '' you have a pretty face, what a pity you're fat ''. And this happened to me almost all my life, obviously that kind of comments did not stop hurting, it hated me very much. At the same time I spent whole days without eating and then at night I ate excessively my weight was totally out of control if I was not allowed to eat all day.

Creo que existen dos razones principales por las cuales en un momento determinado de mi vida odiaba ser quien era, una de esas razones era lo que las demás personas decían sobre mí, es muy común que en el colegio hayan niños crueles e incluso profesores, aunque pueda sonar bastante tonto, las cosas que más nos marcan son las que nos suceden cuando somos niños, los traumas emocionales, nuestros miedos, todo comienza cuando estamos pequeños, y creo que esa razón fue la causa de tanta inseguridad que tuve en mi juventud, estuve muy acomplejada con mi cuerpo y no podía disfrutar las cosas simples de la juventud como mis amigos. Los chicos me decían ''estás muy gorda como para gustarme'' , o ''tienes un rostro lindo, que lástima que estés gorda'' . Y esto me sucedió casi toda mi vida, obviamente ese tipo de comentarios no dejaban de doler, me odiaba muchísimo. Al mismo tiempo pasaba días enteros sin comer y luego en la noche comía excesivamente mi peso estaba totalmente fuera de control si me prohibía comer en todo el día.

DSCF4008.JPG

My feelings back then.

The second reason was my body, since my parents always fed me a lot, but I got used to bad food, lots of sweets and fast food, so from a very young age it was stuffed, I must admit, my tummy was round, I think it was tender, hahaha, and this accompanied me to my youth, which made many things difficult for me, like being able to make new friends, because I did not have confidence, or thought they would make fun of me, that was what always happened. There was a moment when I totally restrained myself from even trying to talk to someone I liked, I was so used to it that I started pretending that I would always get the same, and I stopped trying.

La segunda razón era mi cuerpo, desde pequeña siempre mis padres me alimentaron mucho, pero me mal acostumbraron a una mala alimentación, muchos dulces y comida rápida, entonces desde muy chiquita era rellena, bastante debo admitirlo, mi barriguita era redonda, creo que era tierna, hahaha, y esto me acompañó hasta mi juventud, lo cual dificultó muchas cosas para mí, como ser capaz de hacer nuevos amigos, pues no tenía confianza, o pensaba que se burlarían de mí, eso era lo que sucedía siempre. Existió un momento en el que me cohibí totalmente de intentar siquiera hablar con alguien que me gustara, ya estaba tan acostumbrada que empecé a pretender que siempre obtendría lo mismo, y dejé de intentarlo.

DSCF4020.JPG

Then I began to pretend that nothing affected me, while making hurtful comments I laughed at myself, I did not want to seem weak, and then it was those my '' friends '', who made fun of me and I pretended that I did not care, but I just wanted to be accepted, there was no choice but to put up with everything just to be with someone. Was it really worth that price? Of course not. As soon as I left school, I blocked all contact with this kind of people. Because nobody deserves to be surrounded by negative people who only pay attention to your faults or mistakes.

Entonces comencé a fingir que nada me afectaba, mientras hacían comentarios hirientes yo me reía de mi misma, no quería demostrarme débil, y entonces eran esos mis ''amigos'', los que se burlaban de mí y yo fingía que no me importaba, pero solo quería ser aceptada, no quedaba más remedio que aguantar todo eso con tal de estar con alguien. ¿Valía la pena realmente ese precio? Por supuesto que no. Tan pronto salí del colegio bloquee todo tipo de contacto con esas personas. Porque nadie merece rodearse de personas negativa que solo se fija en tus defectos o errores.

DSC00977.JPG

Over time I learned to love myself as much as I was, all that excess of confidence changed me and changed the way I related to people, I surrounded myself with such positive people that gave me the strength to believe that I can do everything I propose. I set many goals and I have fulfilled them, and most importantly; I did everything for me, I began to love myself more every day. This change has not ended every day I keep setting goals.

Con el tiempo aprendí a quererme mucho tal y como era, todo ese exceso de confianza me cambió y cambio el modo en el que me relacionaba con las personas, me rodeé de personas tan positivas que me dieron fuerzas para creer que puedo hacer todo lo que me proponga. Me puse muchas metas y las he cumplido, y lo más importante; lo hice todo por mí, empecé a quererme cada día más. Este cambio no ha terminado cada día sigo poniéndome metas.

DSC02328.JPG

How it feels nowadays.

Sky pics taken by me with my Sony DSC-H90 and my Fujifilm FinePix S2550HD

Hearts.png

If you want to participate in the #selflovechallenge you can do it, just read the rules here.
And be a part of the initiative for fall inlove with yourself.

separator-6d350b3c93bc32bc622994e3be068598b5cb27001da0411a890b80caa804ce34.png

Thanks for be here! ~ Gracias por estar aquí!
Twitter: @ilhuna_
Instagram: @ilhuna
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ilhunaphoto/
©2018 María Zerpa

ilhuna challenges.png

Sort:  

Superb inspirational story, and very well done for turning life round for the better.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance supports @sircork and his charitable work with @youarehope

Me encanta esta iniciativa, y lo honesta que es. Muchos hemos experimentado situaciones similares. La manera como cuenta todo llega, y provoca abrazarte. :3

Supongo que alguna vez todos hemos tenido ese tipo de problemas, algunos mas fuertes que otros, pero es bueno saber que has logrado.
Te recomiendo que separes el post, haciendo uno en inglés y uno en español.
Suerte :D

Steemit es un blockchain, todo lo que pones ocupa un espacio, eso de postear lo mismo varias veces es considerado abuso, un saludo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35