Bullet Journal Method Book Review - Daily Blog 044

in #selfimprovement5 years ago

blog-044-bullet-journal-method-review.png

After starting to Bullet Journal for better clarity and organization, many questions pop up about how and why; this book answers them all. Honestly, it is hard to put down this book. The writing style flows so well, the ideas and concepts are not stuffed with technical terms (outside of Bullet Journal jargon), and it gives the reader a base to follow.

Throughout the book Ryder Carrol gives small exercises to help make the most out of a new Bullet Journal; something I am getting ready to set up for the new year. Everything he asks of the reader is practical and easy to follow but at the same time forces us to think about our future and where how we want to shape life going forward.

Even though I am coming up on my third year using Ryder's Bullet Journal system, I am still learning a lot from this book. It's reminding me to keep it simple, something I was not doing at the start because I thought I could optimize it for me. While Ryder encourages the reader to take the system and make it their own, I have found that I never really started with the base system he outlines.

About two months before I got this book I chose to strip away all the fills in my Bullet Journal and only use the system that is taught on the official Bullet Journal website. I noticed in a moment before that move that I was not using the journal at all and the conclusion was that I was too lazy to sit down and draw out the lines.

Continue Reading on jrswab.com

Sort:  

I've used the Bullet Journal style for several years now. I agree with your appreciation for simplicity. You don't need a special journal made just for Bullet -- you can use any old notebook. You don't need to spend a lot of money. You can just get started. I find handwriting/logging my work & events and noting key conversations & meetings is extremely helpful. I think of it more as a log that a journal. When tasks pop up, I often toss them into my todo app so I can better organize them.

I also love the flexibility ... tossing in a page to start a list of side hustle ideas, book recommendations, or blog posts. It helps me to offload all these my great ideas, even if I never act on 99% of them.

In all these years, I haven't found anything that beats this format. Not even close.

I think of it more as a log that a journal.

I totally agree!

I also love the flexibility ... tossing in a page to start a list of side hustle ideas, book recommendations, or blog posts. It helps me to offload all these my great ideas, even if I never act on 99% of them.

I'm still getting the hang of collections, or at least using them enough.

In all these years, I haven't found anything that beats this format. Not even close.

I see this more and more as I use the system. Looking forward to another year of intentionally designing my life!

This is my first year of Bullet Journaling and I haven't read the book yet, but it's on my list! Personally I'm learning a lot of useful things from the Bullet Journal method. It's helping me to understand what are my priorities and keep myself realistic. I'm getting better at planning and as a result I'm folowing my goals much more. And the flexibility...it's just uncomparable with other tools. I totally agree with you guys! For me it's also a nice way to keep my mind healthy and clean it up from what's not necessary! I'm also writing posts about my little experience with the Bullet Journal, I would love to hear suggestions from people like you that has more experience than me! :) Hope to hear from you soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24