Learning to Accept Myself

in #selfhelp7 years ago (edited)

Ageing is a normal part of life, we all take on genetics from our parents and this for the most part determines how we look, so this is something that unless one have extensive plastic surgery cannot be changed. So why is it so difficult at times to accept this?

I find myself (like for a moment I am lost) looking at parts of my face/body and judging it as not good enough. Especially as I age, I look at others of a similar age and compare myself to them, without in that moment not see/realise and understand that they look the way that they do because of their parents. Now don't get me wrong here, I am a lot more accepting of who I am as a person within myself, but the aspect of the external at times still plagues me. I am not entirely sure why this does bother me so much, does it mean that because I have not accepted the way that I look then others won't either? The mind works in manipulative ways, we allow ourselves to see one side of things, the side that we see is based on emotional opinion, and quite frankly that is all that it is. We cannot possibly know for sure what others see when the look at us, we are not behind their eyes. The saying one man's junk is another mans treasure comes to mind here.

Self Forgiveness

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to draw comparisons to others, in that I will look at and seek out others of a similar age and attempt to find flaws in the way that they look.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to create a belief within and as me that I need to look a certain way, and that this way is more acceptable than how I currently look now.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to claim to know what others are thinking when the observe me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to want to hide away from others when I don't look my best, as I have perceived it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to fish for compliments from others that I may look good for my age, and within this become despondent when they don't comment.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to look at my body and within this pull it apart in my mind as not slim/attractive enough.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to spend a fortune with emotion and fear being the underpinning of trying to fight the ageing process.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to go into regret of how I have treated my body in the past and within this hold on to the regret as a point of not allowing me to move on.

I commit myself to embrace what is here as me, in how I look and that within this there is nothing I can do to actually physically change my appearance to stop the aging process, and that it is a natural part of life. But I see/realise and understand that when I let go of all of the judgments within me about myself then a true reflection of myself as life will shine through. I see/realise and understand how thinking and stressing too much will actually add to the ageing process.

web_ted-aging_jenn-liv.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77