Giving my power away through making assumptions

in #selfhelp7 years ago (edited)

My partner and I were asked to go tomorrow and take a car to sell at an auction a good 100 miles plus away, and we have had very extreme weather and lots of snow. Although today it’s looking better, still we haven’t seen anything like this in March for many many years in this country, and it has been very dangerous to drive.

I started to build up in my mind a scenario of being stuck, I was getting annoyed and my pitch of my voice was becoming higher ( I do this when I get frustrated)I was fretting about going, and whining to my partner about it, in this moment I saw a couple of points - firstly why am I assuming there will be a problem ? We haven’t spoken to this friend, who is out of the country so unaware of how bad the weather is, and explained. But my partner then also went into an emotional reaction of ‘well you know what he’s like, he will be expecting us to go’ - and then we argued. So my initial emotional reaction most likely made my partner react too - There is a solution here, and it is a simple one, and one where no argument takes place, (because we are being clear) and it is to see how things are later and watch the weather, and make a practical assessment of what is best for all (us included) and then contact him and communicate. I have noticed how both me and my partner try to please others at times and put their needs first, I have also noticed how there is an assumption that is made that our friend ‘will make us go’ and if we don’t he will be upset!

There is always a solution! Nothing is ever completely impossible. It makes sense to communicate and not assume anything. I realised today how I spent several hours fretting over something that I don’t know the outcome of the weather for sure and I assumed that I had no control in the senario, when did I stop directing myself and assert myself to do what is best for me? Many of the problems in this world are a result of emotional assumptions being made, and within this wars erupt, because being in emotion leads us to fear of the worst at all times.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to go off into my imagination and within this create fear through my emotional reactionsE2435F26-5BFB-4DF6-9090-29B0CAEFBE85.jpeg.

I commit myself self to stop and breathe and slow down within myself, so that I am able to stop reacting to myself in energy and review things practically.

I see realise and understand how it is ok to say NO sometimes, and I also see realise and understand how I am disempowering my friend as well by making assumptions of how they will react.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50