Self Help Books are useless

in #selfhelp6 years ago

We have arrived to an era where confirmation biases and positive surplus of information makes it easy to believe or disbelieve
any topic.

Religion, politics, occult. astronomy, numerology- all the same.

If you say you believe in it, there is a boat load of information to confirm your belief.

So coming to my point, which was spurred by a friend who nonchalantly put it as " Self help books a load of bullshit"

What do I think?

Maybe, maybe not!

Why so?

You see, after relentlessy reading this endless sea of information from the world of self-help information, I realised one
essential truth.

They do help, help me atleast.

I've gone from being a fat couch potato, to decently sized up man.
Someone who could speak but never gather enough words to put my point across. They did help, change me.
How so?
The alluring power of self help.

I read so many of them, I was hooked.
I can say that at the end of the day its just a self feeding vicious market, where every other new author will promise you
of a better embellished life.

But I find it sort of a placebo-you see starting a new book, reading parts of it day in day out will fuel you ephemeral will.
A sort of a priming effect, an insurance against your anxiety.

Keeping that book close to you, to see the world through the eyes of the writer.
Certainly a soul( author) guiding you through this ether. Heck may not be even alive! But his words and vision will always sit with you!

As Mark Cuban says it takes just single book, a single book to change the course of your life.
So always keep reading, learning and practicing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54