Mindfulness ( way out of the depression ) - original content

in #selfhelp6 years ago

So I'm a psychology student. I am 4 at year of my studies, I finished all the classes but I didn't pass all the exams and I failed a year also. I was not in a good place. Guy with psychic problems studying and going deep into human psyche. Not a good idea! Well when I started it went well, I was a good little sheep and I didn't ask questions, learned everything by heart, well that was fine until all hit me and I started to think. I spent a year on drugs and sleeping all through the day and couldn't sleep until morning. Well needless to say I was depressed and I spent my time thinking about everything. Some lessons from my studies stick and helped me to get through the hard times. Don’t get me wrong I’m not “cured” and studying psychology didn’t help to “cure” myself but I’ve learned some valuable lessons that I cherish to this day.

One of them is mindfulness that I learned in Cognitive Behavioral Psychology, it is basically an idea that meditation or yoga applies, and it means “being in the moment” like when you sit you focus on each part of a body one by one, or when you walk you focus on each step and every step you take like it’s the only thing in the world that matters, you can do it with food, you take little of something and place it in you mouth and you think about it, you let it fill your brain entirely. One of the goals of the CBT therapy is flexible mood change and that means in all simplicity that when you’re sad you can change your state of sadness into another, not necessarily a happy one ( I found that impossible ) but some other, something to occupy your mind and maybe give you a purpose. I see that a lot of people found this already but they didn’t know how and what they found but it worked so they kept doing it, and I’m all for it. We don’t know exactly how our brain works because it is our reality, we can’t think outside of it, we can only presume and believe what other people tell us.

I found this technique quite helpful in my everyday life and when the dark times hit especially. If this helps in any way I am glad. Just know that whatever you’re going through, you’re not alone in this, and it will get better, no matter how cheesy that sounds. I’ve been through, I still go through it sometimes, and I firmly believe that you will get better and stronger after that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37