Why Being Impulsive Can Be Beneficial

in #selfhelp6 years ago (edited)

_13__impulsive_by_breathlessdragon-d8sw7sb.jpg
Art is by: BreathlessDragon and can be found on deviantart

In the western world, we are often told that being impulsive is BAD. It's actually considered a "thinking error" to western psychologists. That an impulse needs to be harnessed and channeled through the filter of reason. In my opinion, there is always a time and a place for being impulsive.

Truth be told, the majority of my life has been directed by my instincts...my intuition (as the new age like to refer it to)...or my gut (also known as the second brain)...or my emotions. All of which I believe are housed under the same thing. I am proud to say that my life has been full of colorful stimulation because of my choice to follow these guides.

One of my favorite authors and inspirational speakers Danielle Laporte says,"that balance is a myth." Yummy food for thought.

So give thanks if you are impulsive and it isn't harming to anyone or anything. Some of the greatest artists are impulsive individuals such as Rene Perez Joglar. I encourage you to indulge in it sometimes and see where it takes you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62