Getting out of my comfort zone in 2018

in #selfhelp7 years ago

I posted this article on my LinkedIn page today. I want to get out of my comfort zone in 2018 and try to see if I can succeed in writing high quality engaging posts on LinkedIn

I signed up to a 30 day programme which challenges me to write about issues I feel passionately about. One thing I have now learnt is writing engaging posts is clearly not a simple task. However, I am hoping that by the end of the 30 days, I would have improved. Fingers crossed.

This is my post:

addtext_com_MjIxMjU3MTE5MjQ.jpg

#DAY 1 #30DS

Hurray!!!! My very first article on LinkedIn. Getting out of my comfort zone in 2018 and trying to see if I can succeed in writing high quality engaging posts on LinkedIn.

What am I passionate about? I will give an overview on three areas for now and possibly dig deeper in future articles.

My Career as an Accountant
I enjoy being an accountant. My first degree was a BA(Hons) in Philosophy which is a great course. Positives of a degree in Philosophy for me is having an objective and analytical mind-set.

This bodes very well for a career in accountancy as it enables me think outside the box and see situations from different perspectives. I have been working as a contractor for several years now. A major advantage of contracting for me has been the opportunity to diversify into various streams of Accountancy and become a subject matter in some of those areas as well as working in different sectors, so never a dull moment.

Being an accountant for me has evolved over the years. Its more engaging and forward looking. There is a lot of collaboration between external and internal stakeholders and not just a a desk role churning numbers. You must speak up and be heard!

I am a member of the ACCA and an international member of the AICPA. One of the major reasons why I joined the AICPA was to network and collaborate with US accountants. I had an opportunity to attend the 2016 AICPA FP&A conference in New Orleans and it was a fantastic event. One of the highlights for me was learning about the new MS Excel developments with the PowerPivot/ Power BI tools from #Rob Collie, one of the presenters and its impact on the Accountancy world. I also had an opportunity to meet and network with diverse groups of people. It was a wonderful experience.

Empowering & Motivating
In my spare time, I read audio and paper books on personal development, and motivating others. One of my favourite audio books is by Dale Carnegie "How to Win Friends & Influence People". This book is a classic. I encourage you to read it.

If you have read it, please let me know your favourite chapter and why you like it. I also enjoy empowering people. The world we live in today is a Giving one, helping colleagues, new friends, old friends etc.

Fitness, Health & Wellness
As the adage goes, "No Pain No Gain". This is an activity I love a lot and its very challenging and fulfilling. I am not a body builder nor trainer nor do I claim to eat all the right foods. I still love my coffee, the occasional chocolates and cakes. However, I love learning about making great smoothies with my Blendtec, how to mentally psyche myself for the 5k Saturday Park Runs in the freezing weather and mentally fighting off the excuses of why not to go.

Finally, Thanks to #Eli, #Ben & #Josh for allowing me to believe in my abilities and getting this process started.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46