Razor blade, beer, Sid Vicious's My Way and my arm. Part 1.

in #selfharm7 years ago

images.jpg

Life only has beginnings, middles and ends in hindsight.

At the time I was 17, I had run away from boarding school in Ireland and was living in New York, stuck in the top floor of a shitty building in a one room bedsit, no kitchen, no fucking anything. I worked as a landscaper over the border in Connecticut. I worked for a prize A asshole - The American dream, a big babyish white boy living out in the burbs, had his own business, wife too, was a big fella in the fire department. Oh yea, wanted to be a captain or some sort. Well that was how I saw him then, now… 30 years later, was he just a fella who ran a business, someone who gave people jobs… from his eyes I must have been a sight… I was a bit of a mess I guess, not a bad worker, but I didn’t talk much and didn’t really give a shit about people. I was a kid, far from home, living out some punk dream and finding that life bloody hurt. The other people working there… bloody hell… Bunker, the Connecticut red neck. I hated him. He has a rebel flag in the back of his pickup. He was a fucking baby too, had been a marine, or parachutist or something, had been discharged I think. He was in the bloody fire department too. They were all volunteers I think. To me it seemed that they were just trying to make out they were big players in the community. Then there was Charlie the crack head, a kid too, he thought he was younger than me but I had lied about my age, lied about my green card too, I was illegal. Charlie was a fucking mess, another baby, smoked a lot of crack, as his dad (to my amazement) shouted, ‘ah Charlie, you up there smoking all that crack.’ I don’t think my dad would have been so accommodating!! But my dad was dead, had died 3 years before. The way I figured it, it was me out in the world and that was how I liked it. Of course, we’re talking about a guy here who is going to slit his wrists soon, but I had a stance that I liked – I was out there doing my own thing, wearing what I wanted, caring less, smoking weed, drinking, bit of crack – luckily I didn’t have an addictive personality.

Well anyway, I don’t know why this day was any worse than any other.

Sort:  

Congratulations @petemaguire! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49