How do Martial Arts, Pressure Points and Self Defense Work Together?

in #self6 years ago

How do Martial Arts Pressure Points and Self Defense really work together? What is the relationship and do they need to be separated into 3 different topics? Let's go into details today on how these 3 entities all work together, or how they should work together.

Martial Arts Pressure Points and Self Defense

Martial Arts Pressure Points Self Defense.jpg

Let's begin today at the martial arts part of the equation. When I began my martial arts journey in 1984 the sign on the Dojo I joined said "learn the art of self defense." Now this was true in one way, but also completely false in another.

The school I join was outstanding! A combination of Hapkido and Tae Kwon Do, Hapkido being the self defense aspect. However the school was very sport oriented and I honestly had a hard time relating what was taught to the street.

Being I was a former boxer also, I understood the sport aspect. But what was taught as self defense reached a "limit" in which I did not see any progression afterward.

Honestly it seemed like you were learning more to bar fight than deal with an attacker. And on a scale of 1 to 10 a bar fight is maybe, maybe a 4. Your life is really for the most part not in danger.

You can read the rest of the post from the link below!
Let's begin today at the martial arts part of the equation. When I began my martial arts journey in 1984 the sign on the Dojo I joined said "learn the art of self defense." Now this was true in one way, but also completely false in another.

The school I join was outstanding! A combination of Hapkido and Tae Kwon Do, Hapkido being the self defense aspect. However the school was very sport oriented and I honestly had a hard time relating what was taught to the street.

Being I was a former boxer also, I understood the sport aspect. But what was taught as self defense reached a "limit" in which I did not see any progression afterward.

Honestly it seemed like you were learning more to bar fight than deal with an attacker. And on a scale of 1 to 10 a bar fight is maybe, maybe a 4. Your life is really for the most part not in danger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77