You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Trending-Page: Yes I see it too, low paying posts with MEGA self-upvoted comments inside. Shameful!

in #self-upvoting8 years ago

It seems like one technique that could address this is the in ability to up vote your own content. Some people may be against this. I am not for I don't see it as actually hurting the platform. We up vote each other for things we like and as thanks for making content. The more content we make, and the more we engage in discussion in the comments the more it grows the entire platform. That is what makes this place truly great. I didn't know this had become an issue until I saw your post. I saw some people doing this a month or so ago, but I didn't know it had spread beyond the one person I saw doing it. I also know there are people that up vote their own comments for visibility. I did that too when I first started until I realized due to a limited number of votes for maximized vote power I was reducing my chance to do good for the platform when I voted for myself. I haven't done that since. Yet, this could still be gamed even if we could not up vote our own content. Simply create one or more accounts and up vote our own stuff. So I remove my idea ABOVE to remove self voting. I believe changing of minds based upon rational discussion is the way to go if we can achieve it. I may be expecting too much and it may be a pipe dream/fantasy, but I'd rather go that route before proposing inflicting change on everyone due to a few narcissistic individuals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69