You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom Requires Respect

in #self-power5 years ago

Your article is too good!

I'm with you when you mention "moderation", but the main problem of this will be something like "who will moderate?" I think it's a problem to give that right to a specific entity, it's not that bad, but it's not entirely good either, so I think it's something much deeper and I'm too lazy to go into it.

It's funny because I've heard the name "The pirate bay" many times, I guess they're the kings of piracy, but I've never fallen on their page. Some time ago I read that they used your pc to mine a Monero (XMR, it is a cryptocurrency), obviously that wasn't right, that's why I never wanted to go on that website.

You should take a look: https://www.coindesk.com/torrent-site-pirate-bay-spells-out-monero-mining-software-use

I think they restricted that page for the wrong reason, but I actually support it.

Anyway, very good article! I hope to see more of your content :)

Sort:  

Thanks! :)

Who shall moderate is indeed the big question. It must be one or more independent teams with only the common good in mind, without any bias to a subset of the group it moderates for. Any commercial organisation is always somehow biased, so these shall not handle the task of moderation. Therefore it must be some kind of institution, or multiple of them. Governments control the content in their own country, so maybe they are biased. In democratic countries governments may be a bit less biased; Especially when the government is transparent. The question is however, how transparent a government is and can become. That said, maybe it shall be an (or more) institution(s) that are independent from countries, like the UN, or maybe it shall be new institutions handling the task of moderation; Institutions countries/governments signs up for. I think the democratic system is flawed big time, so the members of these institutions shall not be voted in/out. These institutions must be 100% transparent. With a defined set of rules, members or the entire institution shall be eliminated. A public blockchain may be required to record all the information required to show the institutions activities; Would be a great use of this new technology and the 'old' world :)

Wow, didn't know of the Pirate Bay going bad with the Monero mining. They didn't use my machines, that is for sure; Their service is not one I open up in my browser(s) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65