Not caring what others think about you unleashes the real you

in #self-love7 years ago

Lesson learned: to be your true self, you have to not care what others think about you otherwise you will be numb in your existence. That is, if you are caught up in worrying what others think about you then you are not being nor doing, who and what you really want in your life. To me, focusing on other’s opinion of you puts you in a state of being frozen into how they want you to be. When I say that I don’t care what people think about me. It’s not giving me an excuse to be cruel to people because I don’t care about their opinion of me. Instead, I think about how do I want to perceive myself in my World without being too concerned about how someone else sees me. For me, the questions are, do I see myself as someone who is respectful, caring, confident and contributing to the World in a positive way? These are the characteristics that I would like to display and if I feel that I’m expressing those traits then I’m happy with myself and I’m not trying to prove something to people or feel obligated to be a particular way because I’m doing what I want to do and not what someone else expects of me. I call this just being myself. I much rather do things from my heart than doing things out of manipulation to please others. Being happy with myself is the most important.

Photo: blanket hotel and spa kerala
munnar India, 1/24/2017
7B5F4F75-C595-42AB-8B16-87AA411B722F.jpeg

Sort:  

great post and beautiful photo @katinamc ... i upvote you hope you will upvote me too ♥

Congratulations @katinamc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @katinamc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84