Speak Words of Kindness to Self Soothe

in #self-love7 years ago (edited)

“The words you speak become the house you live in” - Hafiz

My use of words to express my life, my expectation, and my experience shapes my future reality. Sometimes this future realty happens in no time and with great velocity like a giant snowball rolling downhill – when a series of undesirable and unfortunate events take place. In hindsight, it all came about from a spark of anger which I chose to ignite. When I view the world with this particular angry-flavor pair of glasses, everything seems to enrage me till I get so angry that I finally exhaust myself in a verbal combat blow-up with another person or a breakdown, alone and in tears.

Similarly, I can use my words to give thanks to everything – even a seemingly unpleasant situation – which I choose to interpret as a step closer to my desired situation.

For a long time, I truly believed that if I thought hard enough about my problems, gave them a comprehensive analysis, and confessed to you why I messed up again this time, I would have finally learned my lesson and protect myself from facing this unwanted situation ever again! After repeatedly berating myself, I would feel so bad and eventually shamed myself into taking actions to change.

It seemed to work for a while. The question lies whether it is the aforementioned self-abusive measure worked, or because I finally took actions which resulted in some positive resolutions. Recently, I learned that good feeling, positive visions, and listening to my inner/higher-self leads me to “want to” take more positive actions that are likely more in tuned with the universe. I relate to the universe as a giant machine that takes in all information, including the wishes, prayers, cursing, swear words, verbal affirmations (positive/negative), and repeated movies we play in our head into considerations and cranks out the realities for each one of us and for those we share.

Which realities do I want to choose?

Today’s affirmation: I feel more secure each day. I am beautiful, capable, and prosperous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45