I'm going to predict the future -- an update

in #self-help7 years ago

I woke up recently with a sinking feeling about my August 7 post. I have grown increasingly uneasy about my idea to contact Kristina Basham (https://www.instagram.com/kristinabasham/). I realize that I am no longer comfortable with that part of my vision. I initially envisioned tweeting Kristina Basham a link to my future video of Beethoven's Piano Sonata #31 -- in response to her video playing Beethoven’s Für Elise -- and that my tweet to her would serve to draw the attention of Scott Adams who would interpret that move as another guy hitting on his girlfriend. Being the alpha-male that he is, he would naturally scan it for threat value (though I intend to pose no threat). In this way I would have gotten his attention.

But I now realize that I don't even want that storyline as part of my story. It introduces a feeling that gets in the way of my vision, and that could undermine its successful accomplishment. I have to revise my vision, but I am not changing it substantially. The most important part of my prediction stands. I continue to envision that I am going to be very pleased with my performance of Beethoven's Piano Sonata # 31 and with the video of it that I will post sometime in January 2018. I'll post that video to this Steemit site, but I'm going to put aside any commitment to sending the link and this story to Scott Adams or Kristina Basham. Instead, my new vision is that one of you will send it to them.

Here’s how I envision it now. I have been telling an incredible story about my mother and the man she really loved, Lajos Delej (pronounced LUH-yosh DELL-ay). You can read all about the story in my first post: https://steemit.com/holocaust/@pianopsych/the-story-of-delej-if-it-wasn-t-completely-true-it-would-make-for-great-fiction. I have been using the technique of self-persuasion suggested by Scott Adams in his book “How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big” to help bring that story to greater public awareness. Winning the First Prize at the San Diego International Piano Competition for Outstanding Amateurs and the subsequent performances in Temecula and for the Romanian ambassador in Washington, D.C. were all envisioned, as have been my last two performances at the New England Conservatory. Now I’m envisioning the next one, and I’m bringing you along with me. Every detail is true and verifiable. This true story just keeps getting written the way I imagine it.

Scott Adams is really onto something important, and I believe it would be valuable for the Steemit community to recruit his participation. I think he would enjoy and benefit from the model that Steemit has created. I believe that I’m doing all of us Steemit users a service by publicly demonstrating his technique for predicting the future (actually, fashioning the future might be a better way to describe it). If we have that kind of power, let’s all use it for good.

In case your interested in my credentials, they can be found here: https://www.linkedin.com/in/PianoPsych/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39