Trying to win an argument!

in #self-help6 years ago

1hmeter.jpg

Ever try to win an argument?

Let me go one step further and ask you that ever won an argument after you argued with the other person to forever. Let me guess what happened next, you guys never talked again or aren't as close as you were earlier.

My younger brother loves to argue with me and almost everyone and so he is unpopular in our family and not a lot of my relatives like him because of this. Everyone has that one "lawyer" friend who everyone hates.

Now I am not trying to imply that we should not state your point when we are sitting among a few people. I mean to say that discussions are great, but discussions are done when all parties want to understand the perspective of the other party and when people are open to ideas. If we think that the topic is sensitive like politics or religion it is best practice to stay silent. Now, some people reading this won't like what I just said but hear me out. Has there been one instance in your entire lifetime when someone contradicted someone on their political or religious beliefs and it went down well. Let me guess, NEVER!

I'll go as far as to say that you are better off agreeing with the other person on matters that are pity. People want to be told that they are correct, isn't that right? So, why not tell them "I think you are right." This is most important when the other person is someone in position of power. Isn't it obvious, why would you want to cross your boss? In most situations it is best to shut your mouth and let the story play out by it's self.

Another idea that someone suggested to me was that start by saying that I think you are right, but I would like to add that _________. Even if our opinion is directly opposite to their's we can convince them to think that we are correct if mold the above statement in way that they feel we are not contradicting them. Shutting up and agreeing with everyone else is a very underrated habit but one that can save you a lot of blood pressure pills and friends.

Sort:  

I admit I have had 1 or 2 really nice discussions on religion without them getting out of hand. I love a great discussion and hearing other's views openly. Very nice post @moneymagnet08.

As you may know @aggamun featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. If you get the chance check out some of the other posts and think about joining us.

I used to tell this to my children...
First, it takes two to argue, only one to stop...
Secondly, simply arguing doesn't prove a point. You have to agree to look at the facts together and agree to look for a solution.
When my children were younger, I would suggest they ask me in order to solve the argument. Now, of course, I suggest they look on the internet - look it up!

Great post! I found you because @aggamun featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest this week. Keep up the great work!

You make a pretty good argument for not arguing :)
I came by because your post was featured in this weeks pay it forward curation contest by @aggamun.

Arguing on something principles for each personnwould bring you to a broken relationship, better start a discussion instead of arguing.. somehow argue and debate is a bit different.. better not arguing ... because in arguing, those who have louder voice would always win 😂

Thanks for your insightful post @moneymagnet08, found your post through @aggamun entry in the pay it forward contest this week

Supporting your post @moneymagnet08, after @aggamun entered into our weekly PIFC contest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah! You're right. Argument is a bad thing.
Congratulation! I have featured your post today in MY ENTRY POST.This is a weekly contest by @pifc and @thedarkhorse,Pay it Forward Curation Contest.
Have a nice day!!

Thank you so much man. Appreciate it a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40