The road to bliss!

in #self-help5 years ago

()

“Kid you think a lot.” This was the remark of an older cousin of mine whom I went for advice all the time and I used to say what the hell. I know I think a lot and that’s the problem but tell me the solution to my problem, I would exclaim and he would say just stop thinking.

For the longest time I used to think that it was the most bullshit advice, it is impossible to “Not Think” isn’t it, how can you stop thinking.

I used to say that to him and he would say master this art and you will be the happiest person on this planet.

Does this ever happen to you that an older person tells you something about life and you are not able to understand in the moment but some time later you realize how deep and at the same time illuminating their advice was.

You guessed it right, I finally was able to understand what my brother meant.

I have been using a guiding meditation app called Headspace and it’s safe to say the app has changed my life.

So, in a session that I recently had called ‘the thinking mind’ I discovered how it is not as hard as everyone thinks and certainly I thought.
The technique is easy we just need to make a conscious effort of not thinking about anything but the task at hand. When we think or feel anything, which inevitably will happen, just note the nature of the thought and let it go.

I know it’s easier said than done but this helps a lot, believe me. Whenever we start having conflicting thoughts, the only way to fight them and live a peaceful life is by just noting them and letting them go. It is a long process but once mastered it is just a matter of time until life becomes easy and peaceful.

Again, we should just acknowledge that we have a thought, why we have that thought (what is going on in life that is leading to it) and just breathe and focus on the task at hand.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=headspace+thinking+or+feeling![hqdefault.jpg]

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @moneymagnet08! You have received 0.2 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @steem12
Subscribe and increase the reward for @moneymagnet08 :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43