The art of not giving a shit!

in #self-help6 years ago

tim-not-giving-a-fuck.png

I went on a road trip with my best friend this weekend. He is 9 years older than me and has been through almost every situation I have been in my life until now. By the way I have a problem when I am on a road trip, I tend to reminisce a lot and started thinking about everything in life (especially on the way back from the journey).

He is one of the best people I know, and I personally enjoy talking to him because he always gives the best advice.
I have been friends with a lot of people and none of those “friendships” work out in the end. I wanted to know from him if I have any habits or behaviors which have the potential to ruin our friendship. So, I asked him if there were and he said something that made me feel great and happy about myself.

He said that if people leave you it’s not you it’s them. If they go away that means that we had goals and ambitions which they didn’t relate to or were compatible with and if that is the case, would you want to be with that person.

This thought process can be applied in any situation in your life right now. If someone you like left you now for someone else, even though you put so much effort and time to make it work, what does that mean? Well for me and you it will be a heart-breaking experience and something we won’t be able to get over but another way to think about it is that if they left us and despite us working so hard, would we even want them in our lives at all. I mean what’s the point. They lied to us and that means they weren’t worth our time, effort, love and care.

So, instead of thinking that we are not good enough we should think that if someone stays they value us and if they don’t, well they can go wherever they feel like and if they did care about us they will come back. If we value a person in our lives and we don’t want them to go, we should ask them and regularly communicate with them the issues that lead to misunderstandings and if it doesn’t work out in the end, there is almost something else that will.

Sort:  

this is (another) good one by the @moneymagnet08! i like the image too! I like Tim. Tim looks like a good friend to me.

Hahaha. Thanks @leeuw. He is pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52