It's that time of the year again!

in #self-help6 years ago (edited)

So I went to the gym today and as expected there were a lot of people there, like a lot.

I say as expected because I started working out in September 2016 and have seen this kind of thing twice already. People making resolutions and promises to themselves that they will work out and stay healthy.

But like every other year, the gyms will be busy for the first 2-3 weeks and then we will be back to the same old same old.

This may sound like I don't like new year resolutions, I do, I really do. I feel new year resolutions are a great way to realize what we lack and prompt us to make a conscious change regarding something we know is wrong. The problem I have is that why only 1 day in the whole year to we spend the time to reflect internally?

Gyms sell yearly memberships and a hefty discount and our a bit over crowded and sometimes have way more people than capacity, but they know that this won't last until past January and the number of people in the gyms will dwindle.

According to a survey only 8% people keep up with their new year's resolutions. 8%. That's almost 1 person in 13.

Just to reiterate the point I am not against the new year's resolutions idea. I just want to propose something that is smarter and is bound to work.

How about setting one goal that we are very passionate about and breaking it down in smaller doable segments.

So say we want to work out and eat healthy, the first phase would be to try to go to the gym at least 3 times and week and eating healthy 2 times a week, in the beginning this will be hard but achievable, so when we achieve the targets we feel a sense of accomplishment which gives us the impetus to keep going.

Slowly and gradually we get used to the new routine and end up getting better at what we do and not feeling like a failure.

This is a technique I use myself, I love discomfort. So, if I feel I don't like something I deliberately try to do that. This gives me sense of pride and a feeling that I can conquer anything. Working smart is as important as working hard.

Hope you guys find this helpful. Happy New Year!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61428.06
ETH 2671.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52