Be Interested, not Interesting!

in #self-help6 years ago (edited)

Interesting-eLearning-small.jpg

People like other people who are similar to them. I remember first day of my college year and my tax teacher sees me wearing a Liverpool F.C. jersey. After the class he calls me to tell me that he liked my jersey.

I asked him if he was a Liverpool FC fan as well and he said yes he was and the fact that how rarely you see one of them in Saskatchewan, Canada.

We shared a nice bond for the rest of the semester he was always happy to help and we would often talk about our team’s results.

I learned that he was big into investments and he gave me a lot of investing advice whenever I asked him. He is one of my mentors now. I learned from that experience that if you want to find allies you have to do, like and hang around the places they do.

Also, another skill that a person should possess is the skill of active listening. Don’t you love when people around you love and acknowledge your thoughts, when they react in a way you like them too. Practising this skill will help you live a peaceful life because you will listen to people which will make them like you and when you speak they will listen to you which will make them feel better.

My supervisor at work does this with me sub-consciously and that is the reason why I love my job. She says nothing and listens to my responses and reacts to them in a way that makes me feel appreciated.

Being interested and not interesting is really important. Just ask a question and then follow up with that question and do this over and over again. The kind of rapport you build with people is unreal.

In a work setting the best way to build rapport is admitting to the mistakes you make. Taking responsibility will lead to people trusting you more. I focus a lot on perfection and hate to make errors. All my bosses at work know this which has led to me being credible and people knowing as a fact that all my ventures will be done with utmost precision and 110% effort.

People notice what you do for them and reciprocate it in one way or the other. Like others and their interests if you want to be liked and respected.

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

People like other people which are similar to them.
It should be people who instead of people which.

Changed it, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60