You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking for Plan B? How to Cut Expenses, Gain Practical Skills and Travel the World Doing Something Meaningful (feat. "Workaway.info")

Workaway is what brought me to El Hierro, Canary Islands in September 2016, after leaving my teaching job with what was probably a burnout.

I only spent three weeks work away-ing ( taught English and German to the 12 and 14 year old daughters of a Canarian family. I lived in a tiny apartment next to their house and had to pay for and cook my own food. Because the teaching was only a couple hours in the mid to late afternoon, Monday to Friday, I had plenty of time left to get to know the island and hiked for hours most days.

On that island I started working on what came to be my never finished Spanish feature film 'Los Ojos Rojos'. It was a pretty magical experience most of the time and when I returned to my home country over half a year later, I was a different person.

Awesome post my friend! I would definitely recommend Workaway :>)

Sort:  

Sounds magical. I guess the teaching deal didn't include meals huh? I really wanna do this next year, going from place to place.
Great to hear it worked out dude <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67