Sort:  

Thanks for reading it. My thoughts were that Authors have Power to affect the platform and they can and should use it. Users can help to make the content matter.

  • There will be a balance of power between creators and curators.
  • We are the creators, we have edit/write access and the authority to do this.
  • The curation process must face market pressures and competition to evolve

Authors who think their content is worth more to the platform than the curators have valued it at should delete the content. If curators fail to reward a good post remove it. If the post was bad Nobody will care it is gone. If it was good then that will incentivise better curation to prevent loss of valuable content.

I personally think this is a mistake; for instance, I just came across you and missed your introductory post 6 days ago.

I was just browsing through your articles, was about to read one, with a view to upvoting and sharing to try and get you more hits.

Then I saw this, and your deleted posts; so I have no idea whether they were of value or not; quite a few people are discovering that when they finally get noticed; a lot of their old posts get voted up, giving them a 4 week payout. @opheliafu is one example, she posted 27 times for a grand total of $0.12.

Then she hit the jackpot with a $1200 post, I am sure that a lot of that money came from Whale voters who looked at her history and realised that she needed to be rewarded.

I also put @opheliafu in one of my posts on how to create your own luck, which seems to have boosted her popularity a bit as well.

The point is, not of that would have happened for her, if when you went to her blog you just saw a bunch of "deleted posts".

The reason I'm taking the time to tell you all of this, is because I have read your intro, I believe you can bring value to the system and I'd love to see you succeed on here. So please, regardless of reward, leave your posts up, it's not a case of people don't value you, they just haven't spotted you yet, make sure that when they do, they get a good impression of you. :-)

Please take this in the spirit it is being given, there are diligent curators out there (I try, but there are others better than me) who are scouring the platform for good contributors, things are changing, sit tight and good things will come.

Cheers
Cg

@cryptogee Your comment brings up some fair points.I take all constructive criticism seriously and It is obvious you are responding with a genuine interest. Your fresh take gives me pause for thought and a different perspective to consider.

Then I saw this, and your deleted posts; so I have no idea whether they were of value or not;

Please understand my intentions with self-curation were/are

  1. To incentivise better curation by causing loss of content not properly curated.
  2. To protect content creators from providing content for zero or inequitable compensation.
  3. Removing content when the platform through curation objectively values it at nil.
  4. Curation still needs optimized on a systematic level and we are in BETA.
  5. By creating economic incentive for curators not to lose quality content they are forced to adapt or lose share to competitors.
  6. I want to make curation matter, if they have something to lose it matters.

I will take your suggestions to heart regarding. not removing content even if the platform objectively deems it without value. Let me sleep on it.

@cryptogee I will try things your way for two weeks though the 1st of September.

Lets see how it goes. :)

Loading...

You should be awarded "game theory of the year" award. Seriously.

Btw, this warning would be more effective inside EACH post, like "If this post is not considered of value by the curators, it will be removed" - or something to that effect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63642.78
ETH 3447.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49