Wanted: Wallet (SPV) supporting SegWitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #segwit7 years ago

It's more than a week since SegWit activation, and still there seems to be no wallet out there supporting SegWit?

Well, I've heard Trezor supporting it, but no ... I don't want to buy a hardware device.

Bitcoin Core (and probably btc1) supports it (from the command line) ... but no, I'm not interested in running a full node at the moment (again, that would require me to buy hardware).

I had electrum installed, and it is supposed to support SegWit - but no, can't seem to get it to work. Even tried downloading the bleeding edge version from git, but no ... no segwit, and it was crashing with error messages all the time.

I'm a big-blocker at heart, but trust me - this is not a rant post, I'm genuinely looking for a SegWit wallet. That said, the rest of the post is just me ranting:

One of the things the small-blockers have been chirping for almost a year is ... EVERYONE IS READY FOR SEGWIT! SEGWIT IS THE FASTEST WAY TO NIRVANA! ... aaand, guess what, not even Bitcoin-QT (the Bitcoin Core GUI) seems to be supporting segwit addresses, almost a week after SegWit activation. I did expect SegWit adoption to take time, I did expect that it probably would take a year before we'll get even a 20% transaction volume increase ... but I did not at all expect that the SegWit transaction volume would plateau at around 0.7% a week after activation - ref http://segwit.party/charts/

Sort:  

informative post. Thanks for sharing @tobixen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97